Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:47 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:59 pm 
Total Newbie

I would like to be able to boot the Kurobox Pro from an external usb drive (flash or hard drive). After searching the wiki and forums the closest solution I have found so far is here http://buffalo.nas-central.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9731&st=0&sk=t&sd=a. Unfortunately, the best they came up with was a half solution, they boot with the kernel on an internal hard drive and root on a usb drive. I would like to be able to boot without any internal drive at all.

While the ideal solution would be to put everything on the external drive, it looks like this will not be possible because the version of uboot we are using can not load the kernel from usb. So as an acceptable compromise we could leave the kernel on the internal flash and put the root on the external drive. The uboot settings to do this are already provided in the wiki http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/Kurobox_Pro_u-boot_environment_variable_settings. Here they are for reference:
Code:
setenv default_kernel_addr 0x00100000
setenv bootargs_base console=ttyS0,115200
setenv bootargs_root root=/dev/sda2 rw
setenv bootargs $(bootargs_base) $(bootargs_root) $(buffalo_ver)
setenv uImage_block 0
setenv uImage_offset 0x00020000
setenv bootcmd 'nboot $(default_kernel_addr) $(uImage_block) $(uImage_offset); bootm $(default_kernel_addr)'

However, the external drive will fail to mount with these setting. From the forum discussion I liked to earlier, we see that the problem is the usb needs some time “for the usb subsystem to settle.” So change the third setenv to wait 10 seconds before mounting root:
Code:
setenv bootargs_root 'root=/dev/sda2 rw; rootdelay=10'

After this when booting I get the error:
Code:
Waiting 10sec before mounting root device...
  Vendor: STECH     Model: Simple Drive      Rev: 8.59