Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:07 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Serial @ Pro Duo
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:58 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 105
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
hi

I was wondering about using Raspberry Pi LvTtl Serial UART to connect to nas ? does it need some additionnal components ? since it looks that both are working in LvTtl = 3.3 V ?

Regards


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Serial @ Pro Duo
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 9:40 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:34 am
Posts: 334
Yeah I use the same TTL cables on the RPi, so should be fine, just double check with a multimeter on the tx pin to be sure.

if you want to read with the RPi UART pins you need to remove the console output:

on the RPi:

Delete from /boot/cmdline.txt
Code:
console=ttyAMA0,115200 kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200

Comment out in /etc/inittab
Code:
#T0:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyAMA0 115200 vt100

Then you should be able to use your RPi to read in from your Pro Duo. ;)

_________________
KuroHG - UBoot 1.2, foonas-em & Debian Wheezy - 3.4 Kernel
Kurobox Pro - Dave's Lenny-armel
LS-WVL - opened
LS-XHL - Squeeze Bootstrap
LS-VL - Squeeze Bootstrap


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Serial @ Pro Duo
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 2:04 pm
Posts: 13
Just gor an LS Pro Duo from Amazon and want to add a serial port.
My model is LS-WVL/E and has no disks.
The board is labelled MVLSWV-BA.
The board is very different from the pictures I've seen here from about 2008 so I've got a newer one!
There are 4 holes that look like toe serial port holes on the earlier models but testing with a meter (sorry, no Scope) give:
GND, +3.3, less than 3.3, and 12V!!!!

Has anyone got any ideas?

Herb


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Serial @ Pro Duo
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:20 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 1:24 pm
Posts: 12
Hi Herb,

A scope (or logic analyzer) would be pretty useful here. But, there are a couple of things you can do:

    * Reset the LS, and monitor what happens to the voltages on those pins with your multimeter. The voltage on the board's TX pin should change when there's serial traffic; the RX pin's voltage shouldn't change once the serial port has been initialized.

    * It's also pretty safe to guess with the board's TX pin (the PC's RX pin). Just connect your serial port's GND and RX pins (be sure your serial adapter is 3.3v, and use a series current-limiting resistor if you're feeling paranoid) and watch for traffic. Since you can't transmit data to the board this way, you'll have to reset the LS repeatedly to generate traffic on the serial port. But, even if you get the baud rate wrong, you should see some activity on the PC.

    * Once you figure out one half of the TX/RX pair, it might be obvious what the other half is. Once again, you can use a series current-limiting resistor to reduce the risk associated with getting it wrong.

These ports tend to be pretty robust, so long as you don't create any outright shorts or go beyond the 0-3.3v logic levels.

best,
Graeme


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Serial @ Pro Duo
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 12:33 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:34 am
Posts: 334
The forum for the WVL is over here: viewforum.php?f=77

Since it's a totaly diffrent box it's probably better to create a new post over there.

:)
Stonie.

_________________
KuroHG - UBoot 1.2, foonas-em & Debian Wheezy - 3.4 Kernel
Kurobox Pro - Dave's Lenny-armel
LS-WVL - opened
LS-XHL - Squeeze Bootstrap
LS-VL - Squeeze Bootstrap


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Serial @ Pro Duo
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:18 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 105
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
pisami wrote:
Hi! New here and just soldered the jumpers to get serial to work! Thanks for the info! I have a MVYAKE4-AB board (yes AB), and I can post couple images of it if anybody wants.




Yes Please do , where do you wire the LvTll UART ?

_________________
URL: http://rzr.online.fr/q/lsproduo

Hardware: lsproduo2 aka LS-WTGL/R1 (3) | LS-W1.0TGL/R1-EU | MainBoard: MVYAKE4-BA
|
OS: Debian/GNU/Linux jessie armel | Linux: 4.3.0-orion5x-lsproduo2+

Firmware-Orig: LS-WTGL-V3_FwUp_309

PM me to test : debian-8-armel-lsproduo2-20151104rzr.qcow2 ( http://db.tt/gn5Qffd6# )


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Serial @ Pro Duo
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 2:09 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 105
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
About MVYAKE4-BA (BA not AB) Series have you found other way to reach the RX/TX/GND pins ?

viewtopic.php?f=50&t=13276&p=150347&hilit=MVYAKE4+BA#p150347

_________________
URL: http://rzr.online.fr/q/lsproduo

Hardware: lsproduo2 aka LS-WTGL/R1 (3) | LS-W1.0TGL/R1-EU | MainBoard: MVYAKE4-BA
|
OS: Debian/GNU/Linux jessie armel | Linux: 4.3.0-orion5x-lsproduo2+

Firmware-Orig: LS-WTGL-V3_FwUp_309

PM me to test : debian-8-armel-lsproduo2-20151104rzr.qcow2 ( http://db.tt/gn5Qffd6# )


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited