Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:31 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:35 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:47 pm
Posts: 2
I wanted to get email notifications and applied the settings and it said I needed a DNS address set up. Went into Network and set up the DNS Address Field and now I can not get onto the NAS from any PC and I am trying to connect Ethernet cord directly to a PC and still can not connect. Can't ping it.

Help! :-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:54 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Sounds like you set a fixed IP address for the box instead of
"setting up" a DNS for your mail.
Can you remember, which IP address you entered?
If yes, put your PC into the same IP subnet and then connect
to the box to revert your changes.
If not, you will need a lot of patience or a reset of the box.
You then either use a "discovery" application, which pings all
the available IP addresses (you need a LOT of patience for that)
or you reset the box to factory defaults. Read the manual for that.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited