Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:19 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:56 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:43 pm
Posts: 1
I am a complete novice to this kind of setup.
I picked up the above model thinking I could just load the Linkstation Nav software on my computer and everything would run HunkyDorey......WRONG!!!!

I also picked up 2 x 1TB SATA Drives to to go in it.
How do I make these work in the LS.
I have no idea about THCP or TFTP as I'm not a programmer, I just want to have an accessible system for holding my Music , Video and be able to grab files when I'm out the house.

I am a fast learner and am not averse to trying new processes.

Please help if you are able to as I feel very frustrated that it wont work!!!

My setup is :
Broadband Internet
PC using Vista Home Premium
Laptop Using Windows 7 Home Premium SP1


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:43 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:38 am
Posts: 1
hello,

I am at exactly the same spot as you were. Did you get your NAS to work properly ?

I bought my mine off eBay. It came without any software and I still haven't been able to download NAS Navigator from buffalo, to start it's configuration. Can you give me a jump start ?

Best regards,

António Pena


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:11 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
NAS Navigator will NOT help. It is a "click-dummy" convenience application
to avoid clicking in the file explorer to navigate to your shares.
It has nothing to do with recovery or configuration of the boxes.
Buffalo boxes are NOT designed (from a software point of view) to have no
preinstalled system on its disks.
Therefore the recovery process for a box with fresh disks is complicated and
no "click-dummy" tool is available to prevent the user to learn a lot about the
usage of TFTP, DHCP and bad software design/implementations by Buffalo.
Read about TFTP and DHCP in general, to understand what it is basically.
Then start to find your matching firmware, the latest TFTP package FOR YOUR
BOXTYP and follow one of the many available guides for recovery.
Because you learned a lot about TFTP and DHCP BEFORE following the guides,
it will be easy for you to adapt to your current environment, if the guide is for
another environment (like the Kirkwood line of boxes).

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 9:46 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 105
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
hi,

I also own "LS-W1.0TGL/R1-EU" and plan to release a debian-8 image ... and looking for betatester

Please join this thread I can help too

viewtopic.php?f=50&t=23971&hilit=LS+W1.0TGL%2FR1+EU&start=30#p174883

_________________
URL: http://rzr.online.fr/q/lsproduo

Hardware: lsproduo2 aka LS-WTGL/R1 (3) | LS-W1.0TGL/R1-EU | MainBoard: MVYAKE4-BA
|
OS: Debian/GNU/Linux jessie armel | Linux: 4.3.0-orion5x-lsproduo2+

Firmware-Orig: LS-WTGL-V3_FwUp_309

PM me to test : debian-8-armel-lsproduo2-20151104rzr.qcow2 ( http://db.tt/gn5Qffd6# )


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited