Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:49 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:43 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:17 pm
Posts: 2
I have added the Linkstation Pro Duo to the Active Directory, I can confirm its added and when I click on Domain Users, it loads the list. I enter who I want to have access, change them to Read/Write, however when I try going to the folder, it still asks for user/pass, and none of them work. The only thing that works period, is the local admin account. Is there a setting or permissions I also need to give in Active Directory?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 9:54 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:42 pm
Posts: 2
I have a similar issue. The terastation had been set up and all fine as far as I can tell. We migrated from AD 2000 (elevated to 2003). AD seems to be ok. Still have the primary old DC online and it is in the mix with the 2 now 2012 DCs. In TeraStation it has the old DC and I can't change it. Whenever I try to make changes, it complains that I can't contact the domain, or bad user name or pw.
Jan 28 13:22:30 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] SMB status was changed
Jan 28 13:22:30 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] Change value : info.domain=ad
Jan 28 13:22:30 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] Change value : info.wg=mydomain
Jan 28 13:22:30 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] Change value : info.ad_dns=mydomain
Jan 28 13:22:30 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] Change value : info.pdc=DCName
Jan 28 13:22:30 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] Change value : info.wins=
Jan 28 13:22:33 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] Trying to join domain...
Failed to join domain: failed to lookup DC info for domain 'mydomain' over rpc: Logon failure
Jan 28 13:22:34 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] Failed to join domain
Jan 28 13:24:54 Cadmium TeraStation[32646]: [Web] SMB status was changed

Also, even though all the domain users are listed, none can logon through the browser.

How can I fix this issue? Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:49 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:42 pm
Posts: 2
Found a promising post on experts exchange, but not sure I want to go through with it. Suggestion is to set it as a Workgroup, delegate authentication to an external SMB server, use Windows DC as authentication server, enable automatic user registration and enable authentication in a shared folder. All set to pull the trigger when dialog box told me all local passwords would be gone and local users become external...and CANNOT BE REVERSED. I don't want to find myself where I have no admin account to manage the box with.

I think security with server 2012 doesn't want to recognize TeraStation. Another post suggested local security policy allowing reversion to NTLM. Another had me enable network discovery in network settings. Interestingly, I was not able to have that change stick--probably a GPO somewhere.

Stuck with getting this operational. Any help greatly appreciated.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited