Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:43 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 4:55 pm 
Total Newbie

Hi everyone. Im new here and have been reading up on as much as I can find. Unfortunately, this site doesnt have good sticky sections on things. Im looking to either use the Stock firmware modified to run Apache / Lighttpd, host a torrent server, and have remote SSH access, or replace the stock firmware with a debian based derrivative ( which im a bit more familiar with ).

I have already gained root / SSH using acp commander. Ive added additional SSH users ( so as not to compromise root ), and have it set up and running 100% on boot. I havent modified the port forwards on my router yet to check from the outside, but im sure I wont have an issue. I require SSH primarily for port redirects ( socks proxy tunnels ). Since this device already has a full openSSH server ( or so ive read ), I am assuming things will work as it should for this purpose ( the D switch ).

Im not quite a novice to linux, but definitely need help understanding things on arm type devices. Currently I host all my needs on an ubuntu quad core server. Im hoping to migrate the bulk of my services to the NAS to handle as its a ton more power efficient and is already on 24/7.

This is my NAS that I am using : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822165106

Any help / pointers would be greatly appreciated.

PS
I did see guides for debian but they seemed a bit over my head and people stated not everything worked.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 6:29 pm 
Total Newbie

Update :

Looks like ipkg has most of what I need. I do have a few questions for anyone who has some knowlege of these systems using stock firmware + ipkg.