Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:35 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:27 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:11 pm
Posts: 3
Both drives failed, added a single drive to start a rebuild I get so far then stuck in a loop.

TFTP works fine picks up the NAS as 192.168.11.150, after files served the IP changes to something random and LSUpater although finds the device on the random IP will not update it. I have tried changing the IP back to 192.168.11.150 sometimes lsupdate actually starts updating the firmware but then fails as the NAS IP changes back to some random IP.

occasionally get acp_state_failure issue.

I need a definitive set of instructions on how to get the NAS working on a new drive, I have tried all the wiki pages been through everything I just can't get the firmware on and a new drive setup.

Any ideas greatly appreciated.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:43 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:11 pm
Posts: 3
Additional note one of the original drives that works but has lots of sector issues, If I use this disk instead of the new one the lsupdate works regardless of IP. is this an issue with the new 1tb drive? if so what drives should I use?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:50 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Do not use disks with 4096 as hardware sector size.
Use 512 disks instead.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 4:39 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:11 pm
Posts: 3
It seems the hd manufacturers don't specify the hardware sector size so not sure which disks I should use. Decided to sell the enclosure and buy something easier to upgrade/maintain.

Thanks for the advise


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 5:52 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:04 am
Posts: 18
If you are in the UK I might be interested in buying your enclosure.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2015 12:57 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 105
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
kenatonline wrote:
Do not use disks with 4096 as hardware sector size.
Use 512 disks instead.


Can you explain a bit more on this restriction and how to get through

_________________
URL: http://rzr.online.fr/q/lsproduo

Hardware: lsproduo2 aka LS-WTGL/R1 (3) | LS-W1.0TGL/R1-EU | MainBoard: MVYAKE4-BA
|
OS: Debian/GNU/Linux jessie armel | Linux: 4.3.0-orion5x-lsproduo2+

Firmware-Orig: LS-WTGL-V3_FwUp_309

PM me to test : debian-8-armel-lsproduo2-20151104rzr.qcow2 ( http://db.tt/gn5Qffd6# )


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited