Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:52 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:16 pm 
Total Newbie

Hi everybody,

I just came into possession of a 1TB (2x500gb) LS Pro Duo. I wanted to setup ISCSI on the device so it can be accessed by my server and environment. I know there is a lot of information out there concerning this on the forum (mostly with custom kernels)- I've spent the last three hours reading through this information and a bit confused with the process.
Is this a relatively easy process? Is it just installing Freelink then installing a package then configuring it?

I think there was a few threads out there asking the same question but... people asked and the responses wasn't completely clear what the steps are. I'm of moderate technical ability. Does anybody have a guide or steps that they can provide to me? (to help me out with this)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

RC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:49 pm 

just curious what are the benefits over NFS ?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 2:31 pm 

I looked into it because it moves a lot of work out of the NAS. My main PC can already do BTRFS file system, LVM etc. Where as getting the NAS to do them will be a battle each time.
Unfortunatley the kernel I've got on the NAS doesn't do iSCSI or any any of those other things and the headers aren't available to install the modules, so I'm going to try compiling a kernel anyway. 'probably take disk 2 out of service just in case!

Jim

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:03 am 

I'd be really interested if you have some success with this. I looked into it before and a custom kernel is the only way, but I never got around to spending time learning how to compile a custom kernel, and I was afraid to leave the box dead and unusable.

I'm also trying to get tun/tap enabled in the kernel in order to run openvpn, so I'd like to hear how you go. :up: