Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:02 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:41 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
Hi rzr,

Thank you for sharing your work on this. How is Wheezy running now on the Pro Duo? How much (memory, CPU) resource is available?

I tried your image file, maybe it it me but I see it is 7 zipped into files numbered 001 to 006. I reassembled these to the 2.09GB file rzr-hardisk-debian-wheezy-armel-lsproduo-2012.img.7z Now I wanted to see what is in this zip and unzipped this and see 0.img, 1.img, 2.img Is this correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:10 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 84
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
file rzr-hardisk-debian-wheezy-armel-lsproduo-2012.img.7z

it's actually a uncompressed disk image , just dd it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
Thanks for the reply. I will hopefully get some time in spots today to get through this. Are you interested in feedback on your wiki like the following:

1.
______
wget -O- http://208.69.38.150/ && wget -O- http://www.opendns.org && exit
[Exit here kills the SSH session. May be better to keep SSH session open}


2.
______
/dev # wget -p -r -l 1 http://d-i.debian.org/daily-images/arme ... alo/lspro/
Response:
"wget: invalid option -- 'p'
BusyBox v1.20.2 (Debian 1:1.20.0-7) multi-call binary.

Usage: wget [-csq] [-O FILE] [-Y on/off] [-P DIR] [-U AGENT] URL..."

[just did a wget of the files directly]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
Scratch point 2 above, I am on a different version of the boot kernel.

Just wondering if this will be worth the effort: what kinds of performance are you getting on the box: i.e. file transfer rates?

With open stock I was getting bursts of 80 Mbps and sustained averages of 30-40 Mbps depending


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:53 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
Hi rzr,

I have been trying with your builds, but it looks to me (perhaps I am wrong) that they assume boot kernel in sda1 rather than md1 i.e. no boot time support for RAID. Is this correct? Do you have boot partition on un raided disks and then bring the RAID online with startup scripts later?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
Still trying here :-)
Esp:
@tmgoblin
@rzr

Thank you for sharing on this forum. Did the RAID work OK for you with the debian installer initrd? I am trying to get Debian to boot off the new boot partition but it seems to revert back to the install partition all the time. I thought this may be because the boot partition I have is an md1 / raid partition. I have seen that breaking out of the debian install and running modprobe md then enables the RAID, but I am not sure how to ensure this flows automatically.

This said, perhaps I have not built my root OS correctly. I have tried your instructions (are they done on a chroot to the newly installed OS root? i.e. /target?)

@rzr Did I assume correctly that your boot partition is not on RAID? @tmgoblin - You mention boot partition is on RAID. Do you still have your system in use? Would just a copy of your boot partition be the fastest/easiest way to get this done?

So many questions, sorry for the bombardment, but a quick response to share your obvious experience would be much appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:21 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 84
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
The diskimage I shared rzr-hardisk-debian-wheezy-armel-lsproduo-2012.img
is not doing using RAID , and works on a single drive ...

yes I confirm raid is setup after . and / is one disk , I do sync manually to the other one , once reboot is fine

but then raid is ok as detailed at :

http://rzr.online.fr/q/armv5#d-i_detect_disks_etc

cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1]
md1 : active raid1 sda6[0] sdb6[1]
314575606 blocks super 1.2 [2/2] [UU]

md0 : active raid0 sda5[0] sdb5[1]
1048576000 blocks super 1.2 512k chunks

I'll have to rebuild kernel some days anyone what to double check or suggest the best .config file we can get on this device ?

_________________
URL: http://rzr.online.fr/q/armv5

Hardware: lsproduo aka LS-WTGL/R1 (3) | MainBoard: MVYAKE4-BA

OS: Debian/GNU/Linux wheezy armel | Linux: 3.2.41lsproduo-00019-g6e228b8

Linux version 3.2.57lsproduo-00031-gfd33ad9 (rzr@lap) (gcc version 4.4.6 (Debian 4.4.6-14) ) #8 PREEMPT Wed Aug 6 13:25:49 CEST 2014

Orig-Firmware: LS-WTGL-V3_FwUp_309


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:56 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
thank you rzr.

I have disconnected one disk and dd'd your image to the other disk, and it boots and works fine. BTW, it seemed the boot partition is c. 1GB I thought I saw 12GB somewhere on your various posts.

I will play around with getting the raid working after startup, and ensuring that whatever uImage defines as the boot partition (i.e. I guess it is sda1) will be available.

My plan B is to do a fresh install and get into kernel compiling but hopefully I will not have to wade too far into unknown.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:45 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 84
Location: eu/fr/35/rennes
Let me cook you an updated kernel , you will tell me if it's better than previous publish one (it miss openvpn tun devices etc)
will try to publish it this w/e ...

Update:

I have a custom build kernel to share, but I'd like you to confirm it's working fine before publishing it ...


email me or find me online
irc://irc.freenode.net/linkstationwiki

_________________
URL: http://rzr.online.fr/q/armv5

Hardware: lsproduo aka LS-WTGL/R1 (3) | MainBoard: MVYAKE4-BA

OS: Debian/GNU/Linux wheezy armel | Linux: 3.2.41lsproduo-00019-g6e228b8

Linux version 3.2.57lsproduo-00031-gfd33ad9 (rzr@lap) (gcc version 4.4.6 (Debian 4.4.6-14) ) #8 PREEMPT Wed Aug 6 13:25:49 CEST 2014

Orig-Firmware: LS-WTGL-V3_FwUp_309


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
Thank you rzr, I was not looking at this in the last few days but just see your message and will do so now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:31 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
I finally managed to get back to this....

I dd'd the image from: rzr-hardisk-debian-wheezy-armel-lsproduo-2012

Great news is that I got it to boot finally by changing the bootargs in nvram from /dev/md0 to /dev/sda2

When logging in, it says the last login was in 2011 or so.

Good amount of free memory on idle: c. 60/70% or so of the 128M
Disk speed is running around 5.5 MBps
Fan nice and quiet.
Could not get USB to get recognised.

I resized the partitions to give a little more space for the root partition.
I saw no mdadm config in there. I can add that.


Should an Apt-get upgrade work? I tried it once and it would not boot afterwards.
Am I working off the right version?

Thank you again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:51 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
I lied.

The bottom USB port works fine.

I guess this stems from the fact that the Debian support is for the 1 USB devices?

This is a worker for me though: 1 USB port is OK.

Thinking about testing the apt-get update again there to see if the distro is maintainable. Or if it just has to stay as-is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:07 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
So I re-ran the apt-get upgrade (I have the logfile if this is useful) and the box does seem to reboot, but sshd does not seem to work. (I checked before rebooting and it is running, but no new ssh sessions can be served):

root@debian:/etc/init.d# sh ssh restart
OpenSSL version mismatch. Built against 1000005f, you have 1000105f


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:11 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
apt-get dist-upgrade works fine.

Did not realise that this would be required.

So happy that I have Debian Wheezy running fully maintainable. :up:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debian on LS Pro Duo
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:43 pm
Posts: 28
One issue remains I need to solve: shutdown does not work. It seems to stall without fully shutting down. Not sure how to find out what is keeping it from shutting down properly, as sshd has been killed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group