Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:50 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:50 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:48 pm
Posts: 3
I have an old Buffalo Linkstation (HD-H300LAN, I believe), and I mistakenly assumed that I could just fire it back up again after a few years and get my old work files off it.

Well, we used to have a Windows/PC-based network, our home network is all Mac now. We've got a few laptops and an iMac connected wireless to an Apple Airport Extreme.

I hooked the Linkstation up to the Airport via ethernet cable, and foolishly assumed it would pop up in the Network window on our iMac. That didn't happen.

I've spent many hours since dinking around trying to get this working, and all I'm seeing is a bunch of stuff talking about how Buffalo Linkstations (the old ones, at least) don't play nicely with Mac.

I have 7+ years of old work files archived that I need to get off of there and on to a new server, but after banging my head against this wall for days now, and I just can't figure it out.

How can I get my files off an old HD-H300LAN Buffalo Linkstation using only Mac computers and an Apple-based network?

Please help!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:35 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
If you don't want to fiddle with your Macs environments,
install a virtual machine (e.g. VirtualBox) and a Linux
within.
You should be able to connect to the Buffalo without a
problem then. In addition to this, it is without any risk to
fiddle with the Linux system if necessary.
Of course, you can also install a Windows within VirtualBox.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:50 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:48 pm
Posts: 3
Correction, it's an HD-H250LAN (sorry, remembered it wrong).

I'm currently not able to connect to the server in any way. After much messing with settings, I was able to get it to show up in NasNavi, but still can't open it or connect to it.

I'm also concerned about doing anything that might jeopardize the files on that server. All I'm trying to do is get the files off of it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:14 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
You should be able to reach the web interface of the box.
If you can't, something is wrong.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:29 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:48 pm
Posts: 3
Well...I think we'd already established that something's wrong. It's the fixing it that I'm trying to get to. :)

NasNavi is reporting an IP of 192.168.0.40, while the rest of my network is in the 10.1.0.x range. Is that anything that could be causing a problem?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:56 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Of course this is a big problem.
Sounds like the box is configured for a fixed IP.
You either change the IP of the box via acp_commander
or you change the subnet of your network to 192.168.0.x.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited