Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:56 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: LS-VA.OTLJ
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 2:03 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 1:54 am
Posts: 1
Hello,
I got an LS-VA.OTLJ station a few days ago, and I am still striving to make it work. I have a PC with Windows 7
I have installed the software and that is working fine. I have added a few users, and I can access it from Internet.
My problem is copying file directly from my HDD to the LinkStation. Most of the time, the computer freeze.
What is the best way to copy an entire HDD to a LS?
Another thing is that I cannot see the Share folder while accessing the LS from Internet, although the settings are exactly the same than for the other users.
:geek:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-VA.OTLJ
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
I/O operations do have their impacts. A few suggestions:

- use "nice -n 19 rsync -a" or "cp -a", which should result in incremental copies
- add "vm.overcommit_memory=2" to /etc/sysctl.conf and reboot
- install "ionice" and make sure your kernel supports it. Suggestion for /etc/crontab (single line):

*/5 * * * * root /usr/bin/nice -n 19 /usr/bin/ionice -c3 -p$(/usr/bin/nice -n 19 /bin/pidof cp) - p$(/usr/bin/nice -n 19 /bin/pidof "sshd: root@notty") -p$(/usr/bin/nice -n 19 /bin/pidof rsync) - p$(/usr/bin/nice -n 19 /bin/pidof cat) >/dev/null 2>&1

PS: Use an editor with Unix line-breaks when editing configuration files, such as the onboard "vi"


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: LS-VA.OTLJ
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:17 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
I don't think this will help haha1789.
He is using Windows 7 and according to the way he asked for help,
I would assume he never touched a Unix command line.

First and important question to haha1789, is your box really PowerPC
based? It must be very old then (more than 5 years).
Which firmware version are you running?

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited