Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:53 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:53 pm 
Total Newbie

hi,

I just tried to install openlink following "way 1" in http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/Getting_OpenLink_working_on_a_LS-HS, but it failed (Fw updater.exe said "failed", I waited some more amount with no LED activity and rebooted).

Now the box only comes up in a reduced emergency mode, only a ftp server is running (scanned with nmap) which looks like:

220 HD-HGLAN-EM FTP server (Version 6.4/OpenBSD/Linux-ftpd-0.17) ready.
Name (linkstation:root):

If I power it on normally it gets its IP address from my DHCP server and power LED and link LED go green (and only ftp is running). If I power on with red "init" button pressed it seems to enter Emergency Mode (all LEDS blinking green/red/red/red, IP is 192.168.11.150) but still only the ftp port is open. no telnet at 1234, no 22936/udp.

So I can not use the FW flasher again, because it doesn't find the HS-DGL.

I also can power it off by pressing Power for a while.

So it seems it is not completely bricked, but unless I can use that ftp server ... ? Does anybody know a username/password combination for the EM-ftp server? And maybe some hints how to continue?

Thanks

Albrecht

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:08 pm 
Site Admin

In EM mode you should still have ftp and the updater client running on 192.168.11.150. If you power up with the reset button held in this just enables the watchdog override and flashes all the LEDs to indicate this. Unless you have replaced your firming.bin then you will not have telnet and telnet on 1234 is only accessible from normal mode. You should still be able to access the updater if the box is still in EM mode. Ping the box on 192.168.11.255 to see if the client updater responds.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:33 pm 
Total Newbie