Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:29 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:41 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 3
My problem started about a week after I bought the HS-DH500GL. The power went out in the building that I live in and when I power the unit back up everything looked fine. But after about 5 - 10 minutes the unit would start beeping and the Red Error Light would flash 4 times. I could not find the unit on the network either. I powered the unit on and off several times and finally found the unit using the NAS Navigator. But when I found the unit it had No Workgroup and No Firmware Displayed. I updated the Firmware twice and then the unit started to work.

The unit worked fine without any problems for about 3 weeks. Again I lost power to the unit and again I cannot fine it on the network. The unit seems to boot up but the Power Light Flashes and never goes Solid. After about 5 – 10 minutes the unit starts beeping and the Error Light Flashes 4 times. I have tried everything I done the first time with no luck. I still cannot fine the unit on the network.

A couple of other things that might help….

1) The fan is not turning when the unit is powered up. I have not seen the fan run at all on power up.

2) I can hold down the Reset Button on the back and then Power the unit up it will make a different sound and the Power Light will remain Solid but I still cannot fine the unit on the Network.

3) I have looked for the unit using computers with Vista and XP Pro. I can find my LS-250 but not my LS-500. I also have a 250 GB Simple Share on my network that I have no problems finding.

Any Help with this problem would be appreciated.

Trevor


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
try this:

boot the LS Live for about 30 seconds. then turn it off by pressing the power button long.

do this 3 times.

then your box should be in EM Mode hopefully. you see that when the led gets solid that the box booted completely...regardless if EM Mode or hdd-mode.

then the question is where to find it on which ip. try the LS-Updater....but remember to edit the lsupdater.ini. there is a variable called VersionCheck. modify the end of the file to look like this:
Code:
[Flags]
VersionCheck = 0

[SpecialFlags] 
Debug = 1


a user lately told wrote that lsupdater.exe did not find his box when VersionCheck was enabled.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 4:55 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 3
Minbender,

Thanks for your help, everything worked fine. I have updated the Firmware to 2.03 the Newest one I could fine.

One Question...

After I got the unit into EM Mode and found it with LS-Updated again it had WORKGROUP AS UNKNOWN and FIRMWARE VER. AS -------. This is the second time I have had this problem. Should I replace the unit...? Is it going bad?

Thanks again for all your help.
Trev


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
thats normal when it is in EM Mode.
possibly you got your box in EM Mode.

no need for replacing it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 2:36 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks again for all your help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:34 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:20 pm
Posts: 2
i have the same problem ... how can i get out of the EM mode and go back to normal?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:16 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:50 am
Posts: 1
mindbender wrote:
try this:


Here's a twist for you. I have the same model and it was doing the same thing. Since it had nothing on the drive before and I wasn't concerned about saving data, I decided to reflash it. I found an article on this site which describes how to reflash the firmware, but it doesn't see the drive on the network.

The twist is that I deleted all of the partitions on the drive in anticipation of them being recreated by the lsupdater.exe application. Aside from what you describe here, is there anything special I need to do because the target drive is blank?

One aside, and this may be a stupid question, but why don't people just default drives, image them using whatever tools for Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, etc... and make those available? Wouldn't that simplify everything? I image systems all the time as a sysadmin. Seems like a quick way to get around the problems these things have.

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 3:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
mobodojo,

I just now notice that this thread is in the wrong subforum. It is currently in the PowerPC-LSHG-LS/HS-Kurobox HG subforum. (it is easy to tell, since the PowerPC units never had the capability to make a beeping sound)

Do you have a PowerPC unit or an ARM9 unit? it makes all the difference in the world.

BTW, the LSUpdater.exe program takes care of all formatting - since the firmware requires the hdd to be formatted into ext2/3 and xfs, it really doesn't make any difference what a person formats the hdd to before running the updater. (the requirement goes back to the kernel & modules, linux 2.6.1x.y - can't remember exactly what the version is... but Buffalo/Melco chose those two filesystems (ext2/3 & xfs) because of speed & stability - in the context of an embedded device & the ARM9 processor)

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited