Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:30 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:46 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:43 am
Posts: 8
Hey guys, I just got one of these LS HG and tried to update to the latest stock firmware. The progress bar filled up completely but said Failed afterwards and now I get 5 blinks of the DIAG red led.

I've been reading that I need to go through the JTAG process but am unsure of which cable to get. Would any of these work?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/JTAG-J-TAG-CABL ... 2551f31ea2

or

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mini-FPGA-CPLD- ... 43aac43ac0

?

Or does anyone in the NYC area want to help :?:

Thanks in advance.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:11 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:01 am
Posts: 10
Sorry, I'm in TX, but you might look at using "nc" from a client to interrupt the boot process and see what is going wrong. Configuration to get the pc to talk to the nas at uboot is somewhat tough, but give it try.

http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/U-boot_bootloader


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
I guess you will already have tried to flash twice?

Failing that, I would:
connect the HDD to a Linux PC,
mount and rescue the data from the third partition,
umount everything,
delete the partititons and the partitioning scheme so the HDD is blank,
flash twice. The first round creates the partitions, the second copies the data to it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:43 am
Posts: 8
So I ended up with this cable:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/270889738333?ru ... 795wt_1139

Which I think is the same as

http://www.tiaowiki.com/w/Debrick_Route ... JTAG_Cable

And I'm not sure it's the right one because it doesn't seem to have a VCC pin. I messed up because they listed the pinout in the auction.

Can I do anything with this cable or do I need another one?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:22 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:43 am
Posts: 8
I opened up the cable and it's a Blackcat from diygadget.com.

It uses a Phillips 74LVC244AD chip to buffer but it seems it gets power from the parallel port.

The only schematic I could find for this Blackcat cable, which doesn't seem to be 100% accurate compared to the actual board, is this:

Image

It seems like this cable uses 5v instead of 3.3v. Am I screwed or is there a way to make this work?

Thanks

andre wrote:
I guess you will already have tried to flash twice?

Failing that, I would:
connect the HDD to a Linux PC,
mount and rescue the data from the third partition,
umount everything,
delete the partititons and the partitioning scheme so the HDD is blank,
flash twice. The first round creates the partitions, the second copies the data to it.


Can't flash anymore because the LS is not seen by the PC in any way.


Last edited by hadeoner555 on Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:43 am
Posts: 8
It seems like there aren't many people on this forum anymore but if anyone does see this, would you consider lending me a working WIGGLER compatible cable?

I can pay shipping and ship it back to you as soon as I flash my Linkstation.

I ended up buying the wrong cable and don't want to dump a lot more money into this device.

Thank you.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:24 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:58 am
Posts: 22
Follow this guide to build your own JTAG interface
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Bui ... _Interface

Then read this article to re-flash your HG
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/JTA ... /Openwince

It works for my LS HG.

*You will also need to bridge R67 with a small piece of wire in order for the interface cable to draw operating voltage from the Kuro.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:43 am
Posts: 8
Thanks for your reply.

Once I got my hands on the correct cable I was able to get the LS working again.

This forum is dead, probably because these devices are old, but I managed to find all the info I needed in the wiki.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:00 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:00 pm
Posts: 3
Which cable did you ended up buying? I dug up my older LS HG and it blinks with 6 lights, not 5. Maybe I can restore this device and use it.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited