Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:13 am

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: HS-DHGL drive failure
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:46 pm 

hya - total noob to this as programming was never my thing. read most of the wikis and forum posts and have spend a week trying to sort it out. anyway 1gb drive failed so I am using a new 2gb as I use the drive for storing media on.

ls live v2 so it wont setup the new drive automatically so I have tried the various methods but had most success with manual drive setup as per http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Man ... LS_Live_v1 doing it this way I can get it to boot and I can get to it via the web.

however - in ubuntu when I try to partition the drive it wont let me pre format the share partition in xfs which I assumed would be the simplest way of dealing with it, have tried reformatting in different ways but no joy. as a result I can access the LS but there are no shares and when I try to format the drive it fails. I tried a maintenance re-initialise twice leaving it for a good day each time but again no shares or format. no matter what I do it doesnt seem to want to format to xfs.

is there a really stupid guide I can follow which I might have misses or is anyone near gloucester I can bribe with alcohol? distance isnt a problem as I do buzz about a bit.

I have been trying the 2.11 firmware, the lsupdater fails and the tftp doesnt want to know which might be due to windows 7. hence my doing the direct hard disk editing under ubuntu which I am more happy with than command line linux editing.

any tips?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:05 pm 

just tried again with just the boot files which allows me to run the firmware update but it gives me acp state failure.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:45 pm 

have you 4096 Byte per sector or 512

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:02 am