Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:27 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:10 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:00 am
Posts: 19
Hello everyone,

I just have a quick question:
How do I enable Jumbo Frames?

I'm running OpenLink on a 2.4.20_mv131 kernel.

I've been reading all around these forums and I see people having it enabled, but I just can't seem to find a simple explanation of how to do it.

Thanks for any and all help you guys!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
That's not without risk because may lose your network connection if your rate is not supported. I suggest a failsafe setup of two virtual interfaces, one with your settings (mine comes with DHCP, change this to a static address if you need to), one with the Linkstation's emergency configuration.

Also, IIRC, 9K is too big, something around 7.5K could be the maximum size supported.

Edit /etc/network/interfaces with a *nix compatible editor like vi (onboard):


auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.11.150
network 192.168.11.0
netmask 255.255.11.255
broadcast 192.168.11.255
#up ifconfig eth0 mtu 1500

auto eth0:1
iface eth0:1 inet dhcp
hostname `hostname`
up ifconfig eth0:1 mtu 7000


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:01 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:00 am
Posts: 19
Hi Andre,

Thanks for your reply. I didn't know that 7500 was the limit. I kept trying 9000 :down:

I modified /etc/network/interfaces by adding the line
Code:
up ifconfig eth0 mtu 7000

However, upon a reboot of the NAS an ifconfig eth0 revealed that the mtu was back to 1500.

I tried manually setting the mtu to 7000 via ifconfig eth0 mtu 7000 and I was able to notice a speed increase in file transfers.

So now my problem now is that I can't get the MTU size to persist through a reboot.
It seems that
Code:
up ifconfig eth0 mtu 7000
doesn't do anything.
I've also tried putting
Code:
ifconfig eth0 mtu 7000
in to the interfaces file, but that doesn't persist either.

What am I doing wrong?
Here is my eth0 entry in /etc/network/interfaces:
Code:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.2.6
network 192.168.2.0
gateway 192.168.2.1
netmask 255.255.255.0
broadcast 192.168.2.255
up ifconfig eth0 mtu 7000


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 7:39 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
You did nothing wrong as far as I can see; I posted a slightly modified version of my own configuration on Debian lenny. Try "/path/to/your/ifconfig" (here: /sbin/ifconfig) and see if that gives.

If it doesn't (prima facie), another MTU-changing command might be executed later in the boot process. You could add a custom element to the boot process and run the ifconfig command once more, late.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:35 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:00 am
Posts: 19
My /etc/network/interfaces looks like the following, yet it still does not persist through a reboot.
The MTU reverts back to 1500.
Code:
#cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.2.6
network 192.168.2.0
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.2.1
broadcast 192.168.2.255
up /sbin/ifconfig eth0 mtu 7000


Manually issuing a
Code:
ifconfig eth0 mtu 7000
does do the trick. But how to make this automatic is the question.
What are some other startup scripts that I can throw the ifconfig command into?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 6:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
I can't recall the exact OL setup; /etc/init.d/bootmisc.sh (if existing) would be a good place. Or you just create a custom startup item.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited