Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:25 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:33 am 
Total Newbie

Does anybody know the magic sequence of steps to get a working Squeeze installation on Kurobox HG?

I began with a blank hard drive and stock firmware yesterday. After scouring the forums I have finally got u-boot, foonas and the Lenny tarball installed and working perfectly. (Thank you all for putting all this information online.)

But, I'm greedy and want Squeeze, not Lenny. I decided to give it a whirl and updated my apt source to squeeze and did a dist-upgrade. It didn't quite work.

- install-info wouldn't update. I fixed this by deleting the contents of /etc/environment.

- udev won't update because "udev requires that support for the CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED feature is disabled in the running kernel", which is the 2.6.28 from the Lenny tarball. I investigated andre's webinstaller to see if something newer would be installed, but it looks like it wants to install 2.6.25.

Has anyone successfully installed Squeeze? How'd you do it? Any ideas on how I might make some progress?

Thanks!

[Sidenote: My ultimate goal is to have gcc 4.4 on my system. I do crypto research on various architectures, and to make things as equal as possible, I try to have the latest gcc on all machines.]

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:52 am 
Site Admin

well, you'd have to roll the kernel without that feature enabled.

this is a little problematic for the upgrade from Lenny to Squeeze, and I"m curious to see how they handle it - Lenny won't run withvery well without that feature enabled, and Squeeze won't run with it enabled. (If I understand correctly).