Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 3:12 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 2:05 am 
Total Newbie

Hi, I need some help with my Terastation.

A few days ago I noticed the Terastation has a single red light on. A few days later four red lights came on.

When I went to the TS admin webpage it poped up a message saying that two disks were bad. But three of the disks on the admin wepage looked ok.

I found this support forum and installed firmare 2.16b (it was 1.15 or so). Now when I check the admin page it says that Disk 2,3,4 are fine and that Disk 1 is not connected.

I did a Disk Check and it says: The Disk Check has failed. The File System or Disk Format is not recognizable.

When I telnet to the TS I get the following:

----

BUFFALO INC. TeraStation series HD-HTGL (YOSHIMUNE)

GINZA login: admin
Password:
admin@GINZA:~$ df
Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/shm 15360 104 15256 1% /mnt/ram
admin@GINZA:~$ ls -1 /mnt/array1
spool
admin@GINZA:~$ xfs_repair -L /dev/md1
sh: xfs_repair: command not found

----

I don't know much about linux. I'm just wondering if I've got this completely wrong. I need all the data to be recovered. The disk has important tax and business records for my wife's business. Any ideas?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:06 pm 

Note that if all four disk lights come on red this may not indicate an error. It could just be that you are getting low on free disk space (they come on when there is less than 10% free). In such a situation the web interface will show a "RAID Array 1 has low disk space" message.