Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:13 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 10:30 pm 
Total Newbie

Greetings,

I have a TeraStation (HD-HTGL). Hereinafter, I refer to this enclosure and motherboard numbered as 1. It was connected to 4 × 500 GB HDDs. The HDDs were configured to RAID 5.

Some weeks back, after a safe shutdown and subsequent restart, the following was observed for an unknown reason:

• No network connectivity
• STATUS/FULL blinked red continuously for all 4 HDDs
• Unable to conduct safe shutdown
• Needed to use power switch at back of unit to shut off

Upon restart, the following was observed:

• STATUS/FULL showed steady green for all 4 HDDs
• Able to conduct safe shutdown

Depressing INIT while the unit was on resulted in the usual, instantaneous all-LED-flash. It did not, however, change the lack of connectivity. It is as if the OS is running as it always does, but neither recognized that there are partitions defined on the HDDs nor communicated over the network.

Contacting Buffalo Technologies Technical Support, I was instructed to depress INIT while turning the unit on. I was told that that action places the unit in EM. That also did not change the lack of connectivity. I was then advised of 2 solutions: obtain another board or connect the HDDs to a Linux system with hardware RAID board.

I opted for the former. I purchased a HDD-less TeraStation (HD-HTGL). Hereinafter, I refer to this motherboard numbered as 2. I transplanted mobo 2 to enclosure 1, so as to change only 1 variable, and leave the others constant, e.g. the power supply, fan, cables, faceplate, etc. The following was observed:

• DIAG blinked red continuously
• POWER off (referring to LED; unit was still on)
• Fan was off