Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:56 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 1:15 pm 
Total Newbie

I have a Terastaion 1.6GB NAS ( silver box, HD-H1.6TGL/R5 ), that is acting screwy.
Its using the 1.12 Firmware.

Last Thursday, I logged into the unit because I noticed some of the disk status lights were flashing red.
After logging in, the unit said that it was in the middle of diagnostics and checking the disks.
Everything seemed fine until later that evening.

A few hours later I logged back in to check the status of the diagnostics and noticed that I was unable to access any of the data on the unit. Red lights are blinking for all 4 disks. :?

When I click "Home" everything looks normal except for the "HDD Space Used" field. It returns nothing, its blank.
When I try running a disk check on the RAID5 array, it starts and then fails out with "The Disk Check has failed.
The File System or Disk Format is not recognizable." :(

There are no errors reported that says I must delete the RAID5 array to be able to use the data, so I am still hopeful.

Is there ANYTHING I can do to repair the disks?
There is quite a bit of data on the unit, most of which is backed up. However there is a small amount of data that there are no other copies of, so I'd be willing to try anything (including opening the machine and inserting the drives into another computer).

Any tips ?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:21 pm 

It might be worth reading this thread to see if you think the situation might apply to you?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:56 pm 

Mel i feel your pain. however, i managed to recover from a '4 red lights' error with some poking around. see my thread as itimpi says - feel free to message me if you don't understand anything.

however, it sounds like your Array is titsup - it took 3-4 runs of the repair to fix it for me, before i could deal with the file system corruption