Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:33 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:53 pm 
Total Newbie

Due to disconnecting the power of a Terastation, the system now reports several things. On the station's webinterface there are only three menues left (home, User Management and Printer setup). On the Home page there is stated that all disks are unformated, but if you klick on one of them you dont't have the rights to access it.
The LEDs 'Status full' are all red, the access LEDs are blinking as the diag LED which is blinking continously.
When I use the client utility all disks are reported wit a capacity of 0,4GB with 100% full.
I connected the disk cage to an Mac G4 and was able to get access to the first disk. As I found out, the system wrote information meant for an USB disk to the OS partition. I deleted some of that stuff and now I have about 24MB free (before there was only 150kb left).
Because there was no backup of the data on the raid (5) I must find a way to get access to these files.
anyone any idea?

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 6:34 pm 

That is unlucky - my teraStation's have survived many powercuts without problems, although I must admit I have now connected them to a cheap UPS just to avoid the 5 hour start-up delay after a failure while the disks are checked.

The big question is whether your disk partitions are intact or not. To find out and in terms of getting your data off, you need to connect the disks to a system that supports the Linux Raid system. Normally another Linux system will do the job.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 8:33 am 
Total Newbie