Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:40 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:42 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:28 pm
Posts: 3
I have a new LS-421DE set up as JBOD(No RAID) with two disks. I cannot set up a shared folder on the second disk which makes it useless. Under Advanced Settings I cannot set up a shared folder in "File Sharing/Folder Setup"; clicking on the "Create folder" button does nothing but it is active. I can create Shared Folders using "Getting Started" but it only allows for Disk1. How can I set up shared folders on Disk 2? Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 5:02 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:28 pm
Posts: 3
I downloaded NAvigator on to a Windows 8 machine that is wirelessly connected to the ls-421de and it will allow me to create folders on both diska 1 and 2 so I guess the Windows 7 version of Navigator has a bug.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:21 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:28 pm
Posts: 3
For some reason I got an email saying there was a new reply to this post. There was none but I thought I'd update the status. The problem was using an older version of Internet Explorer on the Windows 7 machine. Switching to Firefox solved the problem.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:35 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
The reason for the mail was a SPAM entry in your thread.
The SPAM was removed by a moderator, hence the "missing"
new post.
Thanks for posting your solution. It will help others.
Cheers!

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 1:59 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 1:00 pm
Posts: 1
i had this problem and the solution was this:

go to advance settings- management- restore-erase and choose

ERASE: This will erase all data and settings and return the LinkStation to its factory defaults. Erased data cannot be restored. Several hours will be required for this process.

This process will format all HDD writing "1" and later witting "0". In my case, i was using a 4TB HDD & 3TB HDD it took about 72 hours to complete all process.

After that everything works fine. i'm using Firmware Version´╝Ü 1.34-0.95


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited