Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:49 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 6:02 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 5:48 am
Posts: 1
My son change the admin password and he doesn't remember it.

I have a Buffalo Link Satation LS-XL.

I saw a lock icon in the back of the NAS with. Do I need to press that hole or there is another way to reset the NAS.

Thank you.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:31 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Read the manual. Should be mentioned there.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:27 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:42 pm
Posts: 3
Has this Problem been solved yet?
Because: I have the same problem. There is nothing mentioned in the Online manual.
I read it carefully and found nothing about resetting the admin user/pw or the whole device.
The online Faq tells me that there are 2 ways to reset, but for the LS-XL
only the second (changing via the Webinterface) works for the LS-LX.
http://buffalo-en.custhelp.com/app/answ ... 46/p/31,33
So: If I forgot my password I can reset it by logging into the Webinterface
(with the password I forgot)??????????
I cant believe that a Company with that much experience makes such
basic mistakes....
I´ll give the Service hotline a try tomorrow and see what they have to say about it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:45 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:40 am
Posts: 1
Hi
Same problem here. No reset button, instructions in manual .......usless. Tried googling,but to no avail. :evil:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:21 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:19 pm
Posts: 1
need it too :s


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:53 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:41 am
Posts: 1
i have the same problem..linkstation LS-X..cant log in..there is no function button to reset to factory defaults.. :!: any idea.. :?:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:12 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Contacting Buffalo support?

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:26 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:22 am
Posts: 1
I need to know this too, my NAS has got a wrong IP-adress and I can´t change it, and I can´t access it either, does somebody know??

Please
BR Cammis :?:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:09 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:03 pm
Posts: 1
i as well forgot my password and cant get back in

hopefully will have some result from buffalo soon


:cry:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 1:32 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 1:30 am
Posts: 1
Has anyone solved this? I contacted support and got no answer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 12:53 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 12:50 pm
Posts: 1
Use this link to restore the default username/password.

http://www.2lk.com/view/LSRecovery.zip


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:20 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:09 pm
Posts: 4
I got excited there for a minute, but I have a Mac... Any pointers for us Mac Users?
I'm regretting getting this now and wish I'd gone for the Western Digital one which I passed on as I read this was better, which it may be but it's such a complex set up I walked away from it and now I'm trying again I must have changed the u/n and p/w.
Help please, Clive


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:42 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:09 pm
Posts: 4
Bingo - follow the instructions on this link

http://au.faq.buffalo-global.com/app/an ... 46/p/31,33

Worked for me, reset to
Username: admin
Password: password

And finally (note to self): make a safe note of your username and password!
Cheers, Clive


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 8:58 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 8:05 pm
Posts: 1
I had the same problem. The short answer: you have to ship it back to the factory. Customer service, on the phone, was friendly and fast (got a real human very quickly!), but they can't fix it. You have to pay for shipping, to and from the factory, for them to reset it for you. The =only= way, apparently, to reset at LS-XL is via settings... and if you can't log in, you can't do that.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:19 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:49 pm
Posts: 1
I had the same problem and i managed to reset the password by manipulating javascript with Google Chrome developer tools.

Instructions:

1. Go to login page
2. Open developer tools Sources tab
3. Open login_utis.js from authentication folder
4. Replace original login function with this:

Code:
function login(f, lang) {
   if (login_lock != 0) {
      return;
   }
   login_lock = 1;

   var uid = Ext.getCmp('user');
   var uid_value = uid.getValue();
   var pwd = Ext.getCmp('password');
   var pwd_value = pwd.getValue();

   f.form.submit({
      url: '/dynamic.pl',
      params: {
         bufaction: 'verifyLogin'
      },
      waitTitle: S('Please Wait...'),
      waitMsg: S('Logging In...'),
      success: function(form, action){
         var decodedResponse= Ext.decode(action.response.responseText);
         var jsonData = decodedResponse.data;
         loginSuccess(f, action, uid_value, lang);
      },
      failure: function(form, action){
         loginSuccess(f, action, uid_value, lang);
      }
   });
};


5. Hit Ctrl+S
6. Now you can log in as admin with any password. I used u:admin p:admin
7. Use restore to reset password to default


This time poor security was a good thing :)

Br, Ville


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited