Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:32 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Firmware upgrade failed
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 11:27 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 6
I was simply upgrading to the latest stock firmware (V2.10), the upgrade failed and now (although I have scoured this forum) I cannot fix it. I can see that I probably need to clear some files on the LS, but just cannot get access to do so.

The updater finds the LS Pro at 192.168.11.150, but shows that it now has no firmware version. The hostname is now LS-GL-EM80C. Workgroup is unknown. Mac address is 00:16:01:41:c8:0c. Cannot change IP address.

Updating 'returns an error (ACP_STATE_FAILURE)' - I have tried acp-commander, it runs but returns a 'no message' statement.

Telnet attempts result in 'could not open connection to the host, on port 23: connect failed'

Cannot re-install the original V1.03 firmware.

Any ideas or suggestions?
(If I direct wire to my PC, do I need a crossover network cable?)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:33 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Chicago USA
rockhopper wrote:
I was simply upgrading to the latest stock firmware (V2.10), the upgrade failed

I have tried acp-commander, it runs but returns a 'no message' statement.

Cannot re-install the original V1.03 firmware.

Any ideas or suggestions?

thats all indicative of firewall issues or network problems.
you can go direct without a crossover cable.

_________________
1 LS-GL: (FreeLink - 2.6.22 kernel)- backup and media server...
As of June 11, 2010:
admin@LS320:~$ uptime
20:23:40 up 417 days, 20:09, 1 user, load average: 0.20, 0.21, 0.30

That's only because I had to move that time ago. Love this box and this community, wish I had more time to dedicate to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:46 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 6
I'm using ZoneAlarm firewall on the PC, but have shut it down throughout this effort.

When direct connecting I am setting PC to same IP range and subnet as LS; I can ping the LS OK.

When I telnet to the LS should I be trying port 23, or is there some other port number to use?

Is any telnet tool/software preferred?

I should add that when I try to upgrade it does make the connection, it transfers files for about 10 or 20 seconds, then returns the ACP_STATE_FAILURE response, so I guess I am making a connection? So I thought I had the problem reported in this forum of needing to clear files and re-flash, but I cannot access the drive files ........

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Chicago USA
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/Fr ... rror.3F.3F:

what happens with this?
are you checking if windows firewall doesn't enable after you disable ZA?

_________________
1 LS-GL: (FreeLink - 2.6.22 kernel)- backup and media server...
As of June 11, 2010:
admin@LS320:~$ uptime
20:23:40 up 417 days, 20:09, 1 user, load average: 0.20, 0.21, 0.30

That's only because I had to move that time ago. Love this box and this community, wish I had more time to dedicate to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:50 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 6
I'll have a try with Freelink later.
I notice that the install instructions show that I may still run into the ACP_STATE_FAILURE error, so I guess I still might need to telnet and resolve that ....
I note that PUTTY is recommended, so I might try that.

After I disable ZoneAlarm the Windows security warning shield stays red and warns that I have no firewall.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:30 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:24 pm
Posts: 1
Hello

i had the same problem : error (ACP_STATE_FAILURE)'
I was connect via WLAN to the linkstation. I switch from WLAN to a cable connection and it work.

willi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:17 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:05 pm
Posts: 613
Location: Germany
Just two points to clarify:

ACP_STATE_FAILURE can have several reasons. Usually the LS answers, but something in the whole communication process has gone wrong. But you know that e.g. the firewall is usually not the problem, as you get "some" answer from the LS.

"no message" in the acp_commander ... the acp_commander sends telnet-style commands to the LS. If these commands produce some output (e.g. "ls" would) this is sent back by the LS. If the command does not produce output like "telnetd", "passwd -d root" the LS sends back ... "no message". That's just what the acp_commander displays. And the two commands I just mentioned are those sent when the "-o" flag is give to the acp_commander.

Long story, short message: Running the acp_commander with "-o" should produce (3) lines with "no message".

I'm going to improve/explain that behavior a bit in the next version.

_________________
acp_commander users note: from ver. 0.4 on the correct ACP authentication method is used, avoiding possible side effects.
Download: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=167037


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 7:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 6
acp-commander results as follows:

C:\temp>java -jar acp_commander.jar -t 192.168.11.150 -cb
ACP_commander out of the linkstationwiki.net project.
Used to send ACP-commands to Buffalo linkstation(R) LS-PRO.

WARNING: This is experimental software that might brick your linkstation!


Using random connID value = DA8F427FA758
Using target: 192.168.11.150/192.168.11.150
**no message**
**no message**
Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root.old 13303 10885 2418 82% /
/dev/ram1 15360 388 14972 3% /mnt/ram
/dev/ls_disk1_1 194443 12578 171826 7% /boot



Telnet results:

C:\temp>telnet 192.168.11.150
Connecting To 192.168.11.150...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23
: Connect failed


Ping is fine:

C:\temp>ping 192.168.11.150

Pinging 192.168.11.150 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.11.150: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.150: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.150: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.150: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.11.150:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms



I guess I will not be able to install Freelink nor any other version until I can access and clear some file space on the drive?

Any suggestions?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 6
Some progress:
I used Georg's acp_commander to change the port to 23:

C:\temp>java -jar acp_commander.jar -t 192.168.11.150 -p 23
ACP_commander out of the linkstationwiki.net project.
Used to send ACP-commands to Buffalo linkstation(R) LS-PRO.

WARNING: This is experimental software that might brick your linkstation!


WARNING: Nothing to do! None of the options -o, -c, -s or -cb are given.
Using random connID value = 68C2A033D240
Using target: 192.168.11.150/192.168.11.150
Using port: 23 (this is NOT the standard port)
ERROR: Exception: IO (Receive timed out) [Section: ACP_AUTHENT]

C:\temp>


And was then able to establish a telnet session:

telnet 192.168.11.150

Returned the following:

BUFFALO INC. LinkStation series LS-GL(IESADA)
LS-GL-EM80C login: admin
Password:
Login incorrect
LS-GL-EM80C login: admin
Password:
sh: /etc/profile: Permission denied
sh-2.05b$ dir
sh: dir: command not found
sh-2.05b$ cd \
> dir
sh: cd: dir: No such file or directory
sh-2.05b$
sh-2.05b$
sh-2.05b$


Login = admin
password = password

What do I do now?
Is sh-2.05b$ the expected prompt?

Now I'll search the forum for the commands needed to clear the necessary files before re-trying a flash upgrade.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 6
Making slow progress, I can now see the directories and files:

sh-2.05b$
sh-2.05b$ pwd
/boot
sh-2.05b$ ls -l
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 20919 Sep 24 03:43 conf_save.tgz
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4459879 Mar 29 2007 initrd.buffalo
drwx------ 2 root root 12288 Feb 27 2007 lost+found
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1790760 Sep 29 10:51 received_firmware.tmp
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 245776 Sep 29 10:05 u-boot.buffalo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 245776 Sep 23 22:59 u-boot.buffalo.org
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 245776 Sep 29 10:51 u-boot.buffalo.updated
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1826848 Sep 29 10:05 uImage.buffalo
sh-2.05b$


But I cannot see the hddrootfs files that other instructions in the forum say that I will need to remove before I can re-flash?
Which file(s) do I need to remove?
received_firmware.tmp looks favourite?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group