Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 3:10 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 6:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
this are pictures i just shot from a brand new Linkstation Live 500 GB:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

obviously they changed the hardware...this is from the old comparision from yamasita.jp...there there were only minor differences.
source: http://www.yamasita.jp/linkstation/0612/061215.html
Image

now the LS Live is more similar to a kuropro than to a ls pro.

i just tested, in principal it is just a little different layout....the LS Pro boots the LS Live stock kernel/initrd as always.

but this is the problem for now:
UBoot seems to be slightly different too. i setup the hdd for the LS Live as perfect i could....and it should blinked and beeped after about 7 - 10 seconds. so it happens the moment when it accesses uImage.buffalo/initrd.buffalo from /dev/sda1.

the funny thing: if you provide the same uImage/initrd via tftp the box boots up normally.
thats why i think it must have to do with the UBoot build on the boxes.

what does this mean for normal users of such a new LS Live?
DO NOT FLASH ANY FIRMWARE. NOT EVEN THE STOCK ONE.
it won`t work. i have tried the 1.03 + 2.06 (US) and 2.03 (german) stock firmwares for the LS Live.

the only way to get freelink running on these boxes most likely is by manually installing the hddrootfs to /dev/sda2 and then provide kernel + initrd via a tftp-server. as long as there is no power cut the box should work normally.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:36 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:05 pm
Posts: 613
Location: Germany
Ouch!
You couldn't get it back working without a tftp-server at all?
Might it work to flash the former u-boot (e.g. LS Pro)?
Do we have to expect problems with the hardware changes if we flash the "old" u-boot?

EDIT:
andre wrote:
Zu solchen Treffen geht man, wie sich das so gehoert, auf Knien mit einem Kasten Bier auf dem Rücken ;)

3 broken LS Pro for your LS Live revival party => 3 guys bringing 3 * 24 beer for the 4 of you ... sure that the hardware looks different. :mrgreen:

*duck und weg*

_________________
acp_commander users note: from ver. 0.4 on the correct ACP authentication method is used, avoiding possible side effects.
Download: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=167037


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 11:38 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
I'll take apart my LS-live tomorrow. Just to see & if possile get the part numbers & revisions, mines is only 1 month old ish & compare.

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
i have the serial number (which i won`t publish) and the modell number.

i haven`T tested flashing the LS-Pro Uboot.

this should be done with a developement LS Live(best already jtaged).

if the old uboot works i am quite sure that it works.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:51 am
Posts: 14
Location: Leipzig
oh damn, thats just exactly my ls live i got from buffalo support as exchange for my f%&8 hd-hglan400 which is unpatchable, too... should have known this some days more early... seems i have no luck with the ls, first the hdhg not workin nnow the ls live...

_________________
LS Live 500GB (Freelink, Lappstack, Lx-Office, Webmin, Firefly *BRICKED*)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
echolot.....you can try the tftp-startup with freelink hddrootfs for now. i am quite sure that it would work.....and as the box is always on this should be no problem for now.

they should release the firmware which is on this "new" LS Live when it is shipped.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
new info: there is a new file in /boot aka /dev/sda1 aka first ext3 formated partition.

its called u-boot.buffalo

Code:
[14:56]Kaiten: root@HS-DH320GL:/ boot# ls -l
[14:56]   Kaiten: -rw-r--r--    1 root     root        29139 Aug 19 10:19 conf_save.tgz
[14:56]   Kaiten: -rw-r--r--    1 root     root      4417972 May 17 03:50 initrd.buffalo
[14:56]   Kaiten: drwx------    2 root     root        12288 May 17 03:50 lost+found
[14:56]   Kaiten: -rw-r--r--    1 root     root       245776 May 17 03:50 u-boot.buffalo
[14:56]   Kaiten: -rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1791012 May 17 03:50 uImage.buffalo
[14:56]   Kaiten: u-boot.buffalo
[14:56]   Kaiten: new
[14:56]   mindbender: hm!
[14:56]   mindbender: true!
[14:56]   mindbender: .....do they...load the uboot bootloader from file!
[14:56]   mindbender: ??
[14:57]   mindbender: a chainloaded uboot??
[14:57]   mindbender: uboot loads uboot?
[14:57]   Kaiten: Don't know, possibly.


so....my wild speculation is that the newer LS Lives have a Uboot in flash which expects the u-boot.buffalo in /boot aka /dev/sda1.....and then it loads the uboot bootloader from that file....and this uboot bootloader then loads the initrd + uImage from there...and when finished it boots to the hddrootfs.

if i am right, then buffalo actually improved their bootloader design. real bricks would be history then.

guys...i need someone to check if this really is the solution or not. please put the u-boot.buffalo binary in place.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:45 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:41 pm
Posts: 20
(Hi all)
Interesting... The box (bought yesterday) have the file.
Note that files are not strictly the same and it seems that yours is younger than mine.

Code:
root@BUFFALO:~# ls /boot/ -la
drwxr-xr-x    3 root     root         1024 Apr 17 03:52 .
drwxr-xr-x   16 root     root         4096 Apr 18 12:58 ..
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root        29771 Apr 17 03:51 conf_save.tgz
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      4393832 Mar 13 18:22 initrd.buffalo
drwx------    2 root     root        12288 Mar 13 18:22 lost+found
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1790940 Mar 13 18:22 uImage.buffalo


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
the best way to find out whats going on is: serial!
then we see if uboot is loaded twice.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:07 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:41 pm
Posts: 20
Mistake... if *don't* have the file...

Are you sure that the file is a double uboot? What strings give on it?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
have a look yourself. kaiten just uploaded the contents of /boot.

he also just looked at lsupdater.exe with a hexeditor:

Code:
[15:45]   Kaiten: And having a look at lsupdater.exe in a hex editor it does upload the files:
[16:01]   Kaiten: U-Boot 1.1.1 (Mar 30 2007 - 11:52:09) Marvell version: 1.12.1 - TINY


the word "TINY" is very suspicious

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:41 pm
Posts: 20
tiny = not so suspicious

http://space.palmislife.com/html/46/t-76146.html

Code:
Orion1   CPU =  Low

=== KURO U-Boot. ===
** LOADER **
** KUROBOX BOARD: KURO_BOX  LE (CFG_ENV_ADDR=fffff000)


U-Boot 1.1.1 (Feb 13 2007 - 15:59:43) Marvell version: 1.12.1 - TINY


Could not found the upload in http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:15 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
praxy wrote:
Could not found the upload in http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/

I hid it away while there was more investigsation..
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/Us ... e-boot.tgz

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:41 pm
Posts: 20
thank's

anyway if there's a chained uboot it should be seen with:

strings /dev/mtd0 | grep "^[a-z]*=" | tail -n 30


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:55 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 22
Hi,
i have an "new" LS Live too. And it is bricked now !!

I tried to update with the original 2.03 Firmware from Buffalo. But when it was updating, the LS suddenly began to beep and the Error LED flashes 4times (4 long flashes). Only powering off helped to stop that anoying noise.

After that, the LS was bricked. Everytime i power on the LS, the PowerLED blinks an after 4 minutes the Error LED begins to blink 4 times...

I tried zu build a serial Access. The LS has an hole at its bottom. Behind this hole there are 4 connecting stripes. I modified an USB2Serial adapter. But all i can see i crap (hieroglyphen):
------------
ÕÕU]UÕUUõÕýUýõUUPAÕUUUýWÕÕÕÕÕõUUUÕÿÕÕÕW_UõUUõýUUUTUUUUUýÕ×ÕÕÕõEUUÕUõýÕõõWÿUÕUÕõõUUÕUTUUUUÕU×õõÕÕÕWUUUUUõýÿõÿ]_ÕÕÕõUÕõÿUUõ@UU¥UUõõÕ_ÕõU]WõUU¥ÕÕýõÕõ]õ×õõUUõýUUý¥UP¥Õ
UÕõýUUý½«UAÕµÙõÿýõÝýõõõ¨Õ½Uýÿýõ×õý¿Uõ/µýÕÕU½UUõÿÕ×õõUUEŽõÿýõõýÕÿõÕ¿

ªU­õ UýõýýWõõÿýõ¯ U­ýÕõýõõõõõõõÕõ¿¿ÕU¿½U¡¥µº°õUÿ÷÷ÿýõýõÿ¡UÕ½½ÿõýõ÷õõýõ½Õ¿õU­U¥A¥Uå¥UýõõÝõýõõõU¡U½ý¿õõõõýõõ¯õ Õ½¿ÕÕ¯¥U¥*Uµ¥½¿ÿõõõ¯¯ýõ U«½½ÿõõýõõõõ¿Uµ¯¿ÕõÕ­
ª¤
¥½¨U½ýýýõõýýõ¨U©­­ý¿õÿõõýõýõ¡ª­½¯UõÕ­Õ­¥T­Uµ
Õ¯õýýýýýõý ¬U½½¿õõýýýõýõ¯­½¯¯¿¿½¡U½­
¥¥©U­ÿõýýýõýõ UµÕ­­¿ýõýõ½ýõ
­½õýõ­
....
-------------

I used Putty with 115200 Baud 8N1.

Can anyone help me finding the right tool/parameter for serial access?

Ciao
Togeis


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited