Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:39 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 12:01 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:53 pm
Posts: 13
So what exactly would I have to do/try to get an NFS deamon running on my LS Live (stock firmware). The only reason I am asking is that I don't necessarily want to flash a new firmware if all I need can be done with stock...

Thanks

Markus


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 12:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
you need to swap the kernel (/boot/uImage.buffalo) with the freelink kernel and then you need to untar http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/LS ... _v2.tar.gz
to /

then modify /etc/exports + reboot.

the stock kernel does not have NFS-support.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:41 pm
Posts: 20
on my box ssh also needs :
Code:
chmod 600 /etc/ssh_host_key /etc/ssh_host_rsa_key /etc/ssh_host_dsa_key

i have
Code:
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
@         WARNING: UNPROTECTED PRIVATE KEY FILE!          @
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@


[edit] forgot it (i have not seen the like).
thank you for the steps!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:32 am
Posts: 28
I am still searching for a fix for the shutdown problem with modded mindbender jtymod5 FW.
Although my LS Pro 500 runs continously for about 25 days, it would be a great featute to shut "her" down for a while... :biglol:
Code:
shutdown -h now
or
Code:
halt does not function any more

Also via the webinterface, it is not possible.

Is there any fix or workaround? Killing some processes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:15 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
Off the top of my head, I can't remember what it was that stopped the shutdown. Mindbender will know.

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
i added some stuff that is run now by default.

nfs/printer daemon/ushare/<placeholder>...something from this new stuff must be the problem. they are all started but not shutdown in the shutdown scripts.

maybe it just works if this processes are killed....i do not know if i added startscripts in /etc/init.d/ for everything. if yes then it might just work by adding some additional lines in shutdown.sh

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:19 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:49 am
Posts: 295
err at the risk of appearing too dumb... does this "open stock" allow full access to install whatever we want AND keep Web i/f etc? Just about the only apps I would want to add would be HellaNZB and perhaps MLDonkey.

I'm surprised to not find more HellaNZB users here. On OpenFSG.com I found some positive experiences with that on Freecoms FSG which only has a 266mhz ARM9. Should run much better on a 400mhz that is inside the LSPro/live

_________________
Geeky blog at http://www.methanoid.blogspot.com :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:29 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
Methanoid wrote:
err at the risk of appearing too dumb... does this "open stock" allow full access to install whatever we want AND keep Web i/f etc? Just about the only apps I would want to add would be HellaNZB and perhaps MLDonkey.
Within reason yes. However you will need either precompiled binaries or have the dev_tools installed. Also you should consider repartitioning or adding an opt dir on /mnt/disk1, as sda2 will run out of space quickly.

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:07 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:49 am
Posts: 295
My new LS Live comes with 1.03 FW, on UK site there is 2.06, on US site there is 2.10, both add the Web access feature. The Wiki talks of 1.11-1a firmware which doesnt seem around. Does Open Stock work with 2.10 or 2.06 FW ???

_________________
Geeky blog at http://www.methanoid.blogspot.com :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:08 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
Methanoid wrote:
My new LS Live comes with 1.03 FW, on UK site there is 2.06, on US site there is 2.10, both add the Web access feature. The Wiki talks of 1.11-1a firmware which doesnt seem around. Does Open Stock work with 2.10 or 2.06 FW ???
Yes
1.11-1a is a beta available on the Japanese site.

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:15 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 4
Location: Germany
Hi all!

mindbender wrote:
you need to swap the kernel (/boot/uImage.buffalo) with the freelink kernel


Does "swap the kernel" simply mean:
Code:
cd /boot
mv uImage.buffalo uImage.buffalo.org
cp -p /anywhere/FreeLink_arm9-1.0rev2/uImage.buffalo .
reboot


With any normal Linux-PC I would not hesitate to try this out - if it breaks simply reinstall, but with the buffalo I have read too often the word 'brick' which makes me a bit nervous ...
I would appreciate any help.

Greetings,
Jens.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:19 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Chicago USA
yes, you are correct. "Swapping the kernel" in your instructions is right. Also don't worry too much because in your situation, if for some reason the device fails booting off of this kernel version, you can always wait for the device to fail its boot 3x and drop itself into EM mode. in there (as long as your are using the modified initrd you can telnet into the recovery console and swap the kernel back to the .org version.
I would recommend flashing the initrd-only part of the freelink firmware to gain telnet access from EM mode.

_________________
1 LS-GL: (FreeLink - 2.6.22 kernel)- backup and media server...
As of June 11, 2010:
admin@LS320:~$ uptime
20:23:40 up 417 days, 20:09, 1 user, load average: 0.20, 0.21, 0.30

That's only because I had to move that time ago. Love this box and this community, wish I had more time to dedicate to it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:18 am 
Offline
Total Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 4
Location: Germany
Hi!

goat wrote:
I would recommend flashing the initrd-only part of the freelink firmware to gain telnet access from EM mode.


Thank you for your reply. I will try this out!
If it all works great, I'll install the NFS-package on the box and afterwards I think I could share this in the wiki, since
NFS tutorial - Get the Network File System running is not really helpful for the LS-GL arm9 (which I understand as the current LinkstationPro).

Maybe it could fit here as a new entry 'Stock Firmware':
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/NFS#LS-GL_.28arm9.29


Greetings,
Jens.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:38 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
muppetlab wrote:
Hi!

goat wrote:
I would recommend flashing the initrd-only part of the freelink firmware to gain telnet access from EM mode.


Thank you for your reply. I will try this out!
If it all works great, I'll install the NFS-package on the box and afterwards I think I could share this in the wiki, since
NFS tutorial - Get the Network File System running is not really helpful for the LS-GL arm9 (which I understand as the current LinkstationPro).

Maybe it could fit here as a new entry 'Stock Firmware':
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/NFS#LS-GL_.28arm9.29


Greetings,
Jens.

I just removed the nfs instructions in the wiki article the other day, as there are some differences in the kernel & modules, also people shout upgrade to the newer firmwares which have nfs included.

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:46 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 4
Location: Germany
Kaiten wrote:
I just removed the nfs instructions in the wiki article the other day, as there are some differences in the kernel & modules, also people shout upgrade to the newer firmwares which have nfs included.


Hmm. Maybe I haven't read enough instructions ... I apologize if that's the case.
Is nfs included in any stock-firmware? - I thought not.
Is nfs include in any stock-kernel?

Greetings,
Jens.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited