Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:00 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 287 posts ]  Go to page Previous 116 17 18 19 20 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:52 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:39 pm
Posts: 158
Telnet into your NAS and type ps -ef | grep twonky and you should see 2 processes running; one for twonkymedia and one for twonkymediaserver. If not go to /etc/init.d and type ./twonky then see what output you get.

The correct config page is http://<<your-ip:your-port>>/config though a page should appear at just http://<<your-ip:your-port>> with links to the config page and the various browser pages.

You have a trial period so that won't be the problem - even after it expires you can access the config pages but you can't stream any media.

Have you tried other versions of Twonky such as the latest 6.0.1 RC3? I never got on well with the 5.1 versions but the 6.0 and 6.0.1 versions seem fine on my LS Pro. There a few problems with the install script so read my post here first.

PB


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:32 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 14
PeeBee wrote:
Telnet into your NAS and type ps -ef | grep twonky and you should see 2 processes running; one for twonkymedia and one for twonkymediaserver. If not go to /etc/init.d and type ./twonky then see what output you get.

The correct config page is http://<<your-ip:your-port>>/config though a page should appear at just http://<<your-ip:your-port>> with links to the config page and the various browser pages.

You have a trial period so that won't be the problem - even after it expires you can access the config pages but you can't stream any media.

Have you tried other versions of Twonky such as the latest 6.0.1 RC3? I never got on well with the 5.1 versions but the 6.0 and 6.0.1 versions seem fine on my LS Pro. There a few problems with the install script so read my post here first.

PB


Tried 5.1, 4,4 etc - just typed in your command and got the output:

root 1222 1208 0 08:14 pts/0 00:00:00 grep twonky


Thanks for reply, just off to work now, will look at that link later and report back.

http://<<your-ip:your-port>>/config - never shows anything ever! just get a cannot display page message in Firefox and IE.

I'm a little confused about the share path.

I inherited this box from my friend, and it was already set up. When I look my my network, I have THREE folders I can access, "Data" which has a load of films on and "info" which contains some documentation on the router and now, after my fiddling trying to install Twonky, a folder called "Twonky". Is this right, I changed the path in the install.nas file at one point when trying to get this to work, perhaps that is the problem?

I changed it to:

ID=TERASTATIONPRO

USER=root
PWD=

DIR=/mnt/array1/twonky

RC=/etc/init.d/twonky

Please any help hreatly received, I'm close to cracking this!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:10 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:39 pm
Posts: 158
The output from ps shows that twonky is not running.

Did you try starting it manually by running the /etc/init.d/twonky script? Does this script exist on your TS?

Remember under Linux, twonky is not the same as Twonky.

The changes to your install.nas file seem Ok - I recently modified mine to install Twonky 6 into a separate twonky6 folder.

Does the share Twonky have your twonky files in it after installation?

You are providing the root username and password when you run nassetup.exe? And the correct ip address for your TS?

PB


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 14
Yeah files are showing on the drive under twonky
root is just root and no password, so that all works. I can log in fine with telnet and the IP address is definitely correct.

if I log into root then type
/etc/init.d/twonky

the shell says
SIOCADDRT: File exists
root@TERASTATION:~# /etc/init.d/twonky: /mnt/array1/teonky/twonkymedia: cannot execute binary file

Any ideas?


EDIT - can't see twonky script on the terastation either


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:46 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 14
I've tried all different versions of Twonky, but nothing seems to install correctly.

I've run out of ideas now.

I'm so desperate, I've sat and typed out the script from the installer window in the hope this helps someone point me where I am going wrong!

root@TERASTATION;/tmp# rm -f /tmp/nas-uninstaller
wget http://192.168.1.x:9000/nas-uninstaller
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# wget http://192.168.1.x:9000/nas-uninstaller
sh nas-uninstaller /mnt/array1/share/twonky
bash: /usr/local/bin/wget: cannot execute binary file
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# sh nas-uninstaller /mnt/array1/share/twonky
nas-uninstaller: nas-uninstaller: No such file or directory
root@TERASTATION:/tmp#
installing twonkymedia
cd /tmp
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# rm -f/tmp/nas-installer
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# wget http://192.168.1.x:9000/nas-installer
sh nas-installer 192.168.1.x:9000 /mnt/array1/share/twonky /etc/init.d/twonky twonkymedia etl
bash: /usr/local/bin/wget: cannot execute binary file
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# sh nas-installer 192.168.1.x:9000 /mnt/array1/share/tw
<as-installer 192.168.1.x:9000 /mnt/array1/share/two 0x08 0x08 0x08 0x08
<000 /mnt/array1/share/twonky /etc/init.d/twonky two 0x08 0x08 0x08 0x08
nas-installer: nas-installer: No such file of directory
root@TERASTATION:/tmp#
starting twonkymedia
sh /etc/init.d/twonky
The server has been started

The server is installed at /mnt/array1/share/twonky on your TERASTATIONPRO2
The autostart script at /etc/init.d/twonky on your TERASTATIONPRO2
The web interface is at http://192.168.1.xx:9000/configpage/index.html


Any ideas?

Is there a way to get my TSPro back to stock and start the process from anew?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:14 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:39 pm
Posts: 158
acet wrote:
root@TERASTATION;/tmp# rm -f /tmp/nas-uninstaller
wget http://192.168.1.x:9000/nas-uninstaller
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# wget http://192.168.1.x:9000/nas-uninstaller
sh nas-uninstaller /mnt/array1/share/twonky
bash: /usr/local/bin/wget: cannot execute binary file
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# sh nas-uninstaller /mnt/array1/share/twonky
nas-uninstaller: nas-uninstaller: No such file or directory
root@TERASTATION:/tmp#
installing twonkymedia
cd /tmp
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# rm -f/tmp/nas-installer
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# wget /nas-installer
sh nas-installer 192.168.1.x:9000 /mnt/array1/share/twonky /etc/init.d/twonky twonkymedia etl
bash: /usr/local/bin/wget: cannot execute binary file
root@TERASTATION:/tmp# sh nas-installer 192.168.1.x:9000 /mnt/array1/share/tw
<as-installer 192.168.1.x:9000 /mnt/array1/share/two 0x08 0x08 0x08 0x08
<000 /mnt/array1/share/twonky /etc/init.d/twonky two 0x08 0x08 0x08 0x08
nas-installer: nas-installer: No such file of directory
root@TERASTATION:/tmp#
starting twonkymedia
sh /etc/init.d/twonky
The server has been started

The server is installed at /mnt/array1/share/twonky on your TERASTATIONPRO2
The autostart script at /etc/init.d/twonky on your TERASTATIONPRO2
The web interface is at http://192.168.1.xx:9000/configpage/index.html?


That output is far too short to have carried out the installation! You see reams of info scrolling through as each file is transferred over to the NAS.

The worrying line is: "bash: /usr/local/bin/wget: cannot execute binary file" as it uses wget to transfer the files over. Does wget exist in that location on your TS? can you cd /usr/local/bin and then run wget? What response do you get?

acet wrote:
Is there a way to get my TSPro back to stock and start the process from anew?


Run the nassetup.exe file again but only tick the Remove previous version (or similar) box.

Can you confirm that you are storing the setup files on your NAS or PC somewhere and then running the nassetup.exe file from your PC?

Also, I assume that you have put the x into http://192.168.1.x:9000 just to hide the true value of your IP address (not that it gives much away as that wouldn't be the address that your network appears on to the outside world, opnly on your network).

PB


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:09 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 14
Yes, I've just put x where my actual IP address is. Would have been great if that was my problem :)
Files are all stored on my laptop.

You asked "can you cd /usr/local/bin and then run wget? What response do you get?"

I get "cannot execute binary fiile"

I've put "addons.tar" in my shared folder called "data"
the command on page one "tar -C / -xzvf /mnt/disk1/share.addons.tar" when run says

"cannot open: no such directory"
"tar:Child returned status 2"
"tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors"

I've run just "tar -C / -xzvf addons.tar"

And that gives an output of

./bin/
./bin/w
./bin/su
./bin/vmstat
./usr/
./usr/bin/
./usr/local/
./usr/loval/bin/
./usr/local/bin/joe
./usr/local/bin/wget

If I then type "cd /usr/local/bin" then "wget"

Message is "cannot execute binary file"


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:26 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 14
I think I need to re-flash my TSPRO with the Terastation + Telnet + root access firmware again, as it seems to be playing up completely. I've tried installing several different versions on Twonky, previously the wget command was working, now it no longer does, and I have it seems a half built Twonky package on the box.

I'll start again from scratch and report back.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 12:11 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:39 pm
Posts: 158
The problem with "tar -C / -xzvf /mnt/disk1/share.addons.tar" is that you don't have a "/mnt/disk1/share" folder on a TS - it is "/mnt/array1/" so you have to modify the line with the location of addons.tar.

Have you tried usin acp_commander to open stock firmware and install the addons package? See http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Open_Stock_Firmware#Getting_Console_.28Telnet.29_Access_with_acp_commander.

PB


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:11 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 14
PeeBee are spot on with my stupid error! Thank you very much also for the link on acp_commander. I've been away all weekend, so will attempt to install fresh tonight.
I'll report back on my progress. What a frustratingly obvious thing to get wrong!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 14
OK fresh install of FW. ACPcontroller done, addons.tar done.
Wget now on box.

I ran twonkyinstall 4.48

it downloads a load of stuff with wget in the message windows

Eventually it says

The server is installed at /mnt/array1/data on your TERASTATIONPRO
The autostart script at /etc/init.d/twonky on your TERASTATIONPRO
The web interface is at http://192.168.1.71:9000/configpage/index.html

When I type http://192.168.1.71:900/configpage/index.html in my browser I get "Firefox cannot establish a connection"

My install.nas file has:

ID=TERASTATIONPRO

USER=root
PWD=

DIR=/mnt/array1/data

RC=/etc/init.d/twonky


Any idea why it is STILL not working?

/etc/init.d/twonky - gives No such file or directory

The only other thing in the NASSetup window that looks a bit weird is it says after dowloading all the files:

In: /etc/rc.d/rc3.d/S99twonkyvision: File exists
IN: /etc/rc.d/rc2.d/S99twonkyvision: File exists
root@TERASTATION:/tmp#
starting twonkymedia
sh /etc/init.d/twonky
The server has been started (etc etc)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:02 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:39 pm
Posts: 158
acet wrote:
When I type http://192.168.1.71:900/configpage/index.html in my browser I get "Firefox cannot establish a connection"


The readout is always wrong for some reason - the Config page should be at http://192.168.1.71:9000/config.

The /etc/init.d/twonky file should contain:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
route add -net 224.0.0.0 netmask 240.0.0.0 dev eth0

cd /mnt/array1/data/twonky
/mnt/array1/data/twonky/twonkymedia &


Create it manually and then make it executable by root (chmod +x).

Then add an entry to /etc/init.d/rcS:
Code:
exec_sh twonky

which will run the twonky startup script each time the Terastation boots up.

PB


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:44 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:34 am
Posts: 1
Apologies for what has probably been discussed before, but after a couple hours of reading I'm no closer to a solution...

I have a LS Pro v1 that I've gone through and installed twonky 4.4.18 sucessfully. The server is up and running, scans the specified shares and finds the available music and videos. I see the Twonky LS Pro under my Network neighborhood and double-clicking it launches WMP with (some) videos.

However, I can't seem to get twonky showing in iTunes as a shared server.

The only thing I haven't done is to configured iTunes library file in the Twonky config/External Applications -- I didn't think this was actually required?

Any tips on diagnosing the problem?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 12:33 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:52 pm
Posts: 5
I've installed version 6.0.23 onto my LS Pro v1 using stock firmware 1.15. Everything went fine......
but...... the LS is programmed to power down over night, and power up again in the morning. When it powers up it seems that Twonky has to build its data base of files again from scratch.

In fact, I don't even need to power the box down to need a total rescan. Merely asking it to restart the server from the browser interface causes it to reset the number of files found to zero and restart scanning from scratch. Given that the disk is 94% full, and that it eventually finds 10101 music files, 20524 photos and 576 videos, this takes a while!

Is this normal and can it be overcome?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:22 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:39 pm
Posts: 158
It is normal and I experienced the same thing on my LS Pro when I used the sleep function in FW1.15. I have now stopped it from powering down my LS Pro to avoid the rescan.

BTW, why didn't you go straight to the latest 6.0.30 version? See http://www.twonkyforum.com/downloads/6.0.30/

PB


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 287 posts ]  Go to page Previous 116 17 18 19 20 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited