Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:40 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:27 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 11:16 am
Posts: 12
Here's a summary of what I was playing with in the last days.

I have a HS-DH500GL (Live) vs1 box. Originally with a 500gb drive.

The Linkstation can only use 512b sectors. It doesn't support GPT partitiontables.
This means we are limited to any HDD which has 512b sector size, "real" or "emulation".
My WD Red 4tb has that 512e "emulation", and boots up just fine.
I use Debian Squeeze.

Now regular drives with a "ms dos" partition table can only hold 2tb max in one partition.
The drive can only have 4 primary partitions too.

a) boot
b) root
c) extended
c1) logical: swap
c2) logical: 2tb
d) 2tb

The trick would be to combine those two 2tb partitions to one logical volume.
LVM or btrfs would be possible, for example.


I, personally, failed to upgrade to Debian Wheezy, have a strange problem where my box doesn't boot up when the data partition is larger than 260gb, and didn't read up on how to best combine those two partitions.

I am sure it all can be fixed and done. I'll pass, in lack of time, and will refurbish the box with 2tb and send it to a new home.

Good success, to all of you out there using those Linkstations!

Manuel


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:54 pm
Posts: 6
I confirm that 4TB works on LS500GL.
I've got 4TB HGST Ultrastar 7K4000.
dd-ed everything from old 500GB Samsung HDD to new 4TB HDD.
added two primary partitions (type LVM) 1.4TB and 1.8TB.
added these to my LVM Data group.
There was already LVM setup on old 500GB HDD.

Why I've added two partitions as Primary - anyway HDD more than 4TB will not work with MS DOS partition table. So MSDOS PT will not be a case in future if I will migrate to 8TB or so.

To add these partitions I used parted. fdisk is stupid and for some reason does not understand that HDD can be up to 4TB with MS DOS MBR/PT.

I have Debian Wheezy
I tried GPT, but Buffalo does not start with it. I override MBR back from old HDD, but some GPT artefacts are still there on new HDD. I do not care - all works fine. :up:

That is how my new setup looks:
Code:
root@debian:~# fdisk -l /dev/sda

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.

Disk /dev/sda: 4000.8 GB, 4000787030016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 486401 cylinders, total 7814037168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x12345678

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048      194559       96256   83  Linux
/dev/sda2          194560   976771071   488288256   8e  Linux LVM
/dev/sda3       976771072  4039163567  1531196248   8e  Linux LVM
/dev/sda4      4039163568  3519069871  1887436800   8e  Linux LVM

root@debian:~# lsblk
NAME                MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
mtdblock0            31:0    0   256K  0 disk
sda                   8:0    0   3.7T  0 disk
├─sda1                8:1    0    94M  0 part /boot
├─sda2                8:2    0 465.7G  0 part
│ ├─vg1-root (dm-0) 254:0    0   9.3G  0 lvm  /
│ ├─vg1-swap (dm-1) 254:1    0   244M  0 lvm  [SWAP]
│ └─vg1-data (dm-2) 254:2    0   3.2T  0 lvm  /data
├─sda3                8:3    0   1.4T  0 part
│ └─vg1-data (dm-2) 254:2    0   3.2T  0 lvm  /data
└─sda4                8:4    0   1.8T  0 part
  └─vg1-data (dm-2) 254:2    0   3.2T  0 lvm  /data


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited