Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:51 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 310 posts ]  Go to page Previous 115 16 17 18 1921 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:17 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
lb_worm wrote:
I need to speak to my test rabbit (mindbender) about my auto repartition mode too.

ready for killing my LS Pro`s hdd, sir.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:45 pm
Posts: 105
Location: United States of America
Got to love that rascally rabbit Laughing

_________________
Shadowtester
Linkstation Pro Betatester willing to try pretty much anything and not bright enough to know how dangerous it really is :)


Last edited by Shadowtester on Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 6:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
mindbender wrote:
ready for killing my LS Pro`s hdd, sir.

ACE! I will prime you again shortly with some code to test.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:58 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:46 am
Posts: 2
Location: United States of America
I'm having some trouble installing this. Here's the general sequence I've gone through a few times (I've tried variations, but this sounds the most correct to me):

1. Start from stock firmware
2. Install telnet-enabled 1.03rev2 firmware, restart
3. Clear root password, log in, edit /etc/linkstation_version to bump the build date down a day
4. Run freelink updater tool.
5. Watch as it transfers a few things. About three quarters of the way through what looks like the rootfs (~80M file), it slows way way down.
6. Cry when I get a dialog saying "LS-GL906 returns an error. (ACP_STATE_FAILURE). Updating is aborted."

If I log in and watch what goes on in /boot, the slowing-down of the transfer coincides with the disappearance of /boot/received_firmware.tmp

I saw earlier in this thread, that this error occurs from a full /boot, but it's starting out with only the normal files (10.8M of data), and received_firmware.tmp disappears when the partition is only up to about 40% full.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:23 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
i recommend to install the initrd at first ONLY.
also do NOT install "BOOT"...it is the only way to render your box useless if it fails.

left click on the 2 yellow rings on the top left of the updater and choose "debug".

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 7:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
I have add a safe guard on the initrd now to prevent flash updates unless un-locked. Will try and push this out soon for you to test. Tidying up kernel at present.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:55 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:46 am
Posts: 2
Location: United States of America
OK, I finally managed to get it to work, but I'm not sure what changed. I'm wondering if it was maybe just a timeout that was occurring due to a slow transfer (I was running windows inside a virtual machine to do the update).

Thanks for an awesome firmware setup!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
Great, hope you enjoy :)

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:50 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:48 pm
Posts: 130
i am really newbie to linkstation products , i have just heard about it , and i`d like to know if after install freelink i can compile my own kernel. I need some patches to the jobs the box will be doing. Thanks :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:27 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:19 am
Posts: 13
Location: Hong Kong
Copy LiveLock,

I also fighting with my SB3 and LS-PRO at the moment. I saw that you are success at last ...
Would you mind to summarise once again how to put SLIMSERVER to be executed on LS-PRO in summary ?

I have followed some other guys suggestion last night, but finally I got LS-PRO to compaint out of space to write on mount point /usr/lib .... Does not have a clue .....

Moreover, my LS-PRO already equipped as FreeLink v1.0 (arm9) rev2 released at the moment.

Lamma


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:40 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:19 am
Posts: 13
Location: Hong Kong
Copy LiveLock,

If I follow your steps from a) to k) and download the updated MySQL to reinstall it in order to make SlimServer running without problem. What about to re-complie 6.5.1 ? Can talk more about this such as the steps ?

Lamma


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:26 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:42 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland
installed freelink but cannot run updates and get "permision denied" viewing files logging in as root. apt-get update does not work ,get "no file or directory" for each file. when i try to look at etc/resolv.conf i get permission denied. any ideas of what is wrong?

UPDATE: downloading updates atm ,just booted it up and worked straight off. not sure what original problem was but all ok now.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
Has some root issues. If you have logged on as another user, type su - and then enter the password for root. apt-get etc should work fine then.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 3:52 pm 
Offline
Betatester

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:45 am
Posts: 19
Location: Germany
ERRORR !
I have Installed FreeLink_arm9-1.0rev2 img, after rebooting i can not connect to my LS-PRO over WEB-Interface (ip and Name) and Buffalo LS-GL updater say´s LS-GL not found.
I can ping my LS-GL and i can connect via Putty (SSH) what can i do to find my LS-GL.
what is wrong with my Image Installation?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 5:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:57 pm
Posts: 428
Location: Germany
pezhy wrote:
ERRORR !
I have Installed FreeLink_arm9-1.0rev2 img, after rebooting i can not connect to my LS-PRO over WEB-Interface (ip and Name) and Buffalo LS-GL updater say´s LS-GL not found.
I can ping my LS-GL and i can connect via Putty (SSH) what can i do to find my LS-GL.
what is wrong with my Image Installation?


FreeLink has not a Webinterface. Connect via SSH and install Webmin.

Read the Wiki to reflash original Fiemware if you don't like FreeLink.

Salve
FwvG

_________________
If it's there and you can see it, it's REAL ? If it's there and you can't see it, it's TRANSPARENT
If it's not there and you can see it, it's VIRTUAL ? If it's not there and you can't see it, it's GONE
If it has never been there and you paid for it, it's eBay!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 310 posts ]  Go to page Previous 115 16 17 18 1921 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited