Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:32 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 27
Location: Denmark
I've upgraded my Linkstation with a 1.5TB WD harddrive.

After the drive installation I performed a successful TFTP boot procedure and firmware update (v2.11) and was able to access the web interface and the blank share on the drive. But after reboot I keep getting the 'E16 - unable to locate internal HDD' error. :shock:

Any ideas?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:47 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 27
Location: Denmark
I'm really stuck, guys... tried every solution I've been able to locate here. :|
Still getting the E16 error after booting the unit and I now trying to reflash the LS.

My LS is connected directly to my desktop which is manually is to IP 192.168.11.1
Then I get the LS into EM mode (interupting boot process 3 times) and the running TFTP Boot Recovery HS-DHGL 2.10
Image

This will make the LS detectable through NASNavigator2 (with IP 169.254.29.206) which I manually change to 192.168.11.150. The web interface is now accessible and the E16 error is gone.
Image

Then I start up the LSUpdater (HS-DHGL_211_101b) in debug mode and with the settings below.
Image

After starting the update the firmware is transfered and the LS is rebooted.
Then the formatting begins (the process bar always stops halfway - is this right?)
Image

Now there's another firmware transfer which ends with a reboot.
Then the LS will flash yellow (2 long, 5 short) for a couple of minutes and reboot.

At this stage everything looks fine and is accessible (fileshare and web interface) - although the LS still looks to be in EM mode or? (HS-DHGLC4C)
Image

In the web interface the harddrive is recognized. Format and Disk check will also complete successfully.
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:53 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 17
So I seem to have a similar problem.

I just upgraded my Linkstation Pro (LS-250GL) with a 1TB WD Green WD10EADS-00P8B0, using the TFTP procedure to reinitialise the system. I used FW 1.15.

From a cold boot, I get the red LED showing code 16. However, it seems to boot ok, and transfers to the unit appear to work too. If I run a check disk from the web interface, no errors are reported and the red error LED goes out.

This Buffalo FAQ suggests reformatting the drive, which I've done through the web interface, but this has not changed anything, i.e. I'm still getting the error from a cold boot.

If I perform a warm reboot, I do not get any error displayed.

Any suggestions folks? Could this be a problem with using the WD Green type drives? Is it due to 1TB+ sizes?

_________________
Tony


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:01 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 17
What is the specific disk model, including version?

I had no success with a WD10EADS-00P8B0. However, I changed to a 500GB Western Digital Green (WD5000AAVS-00ZTB0) using the same process and it works absolutely fine. E16 not shown at all!

Is this a problem only with a specific drive version?

_________________
Tony


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 7:19 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:27 am
Posts: 4
I got the WD 32M SATA2 WD15EADS to work for me. But I had to enable PHY15 jumper and copy the from my old disk directly.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:24 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:31 am
Posts: 9
Hi there,
I've got the same problem with a LS-500GL and a WD Caviar Green 1.5TB. I tried to put a jumper on 5+6 to force 1.5GB PHY but that didn't help at all. Any suggestions anyone?
Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:50 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 17
I'm sure I've seen some people having success with 1TB and 1.5TB WD Green drives - I'll try to find the links again.

However, I myself have had success with a 500GB WD Green. I did not jumper any pins.

So, this problem is likely due to:
a) size of disk, i.e. 1TB+. I don't think this is the issue, as I'm sure I've seen others use 1TB+ drives in the LS-GL series.
b) it's a specific issue with a specific version of WD Green drives, although it's not all versions. This is my strongest suspicion, but we need more data.

I contacted both Western Digital and Buffalo, and neither will provide support.

If you have successfully upgraded you LS-GL, please provide the full model and version details here. Maybe we can save others from the same troubles.

Thanks.

_________________
Tony


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:00 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:31 am
Posts: 9
aks100, providing some links would be highly appreciated.

If I succeed in getting it all up and running I will post the details...

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:26 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 17
This user installed a WD10EADS in a newer Linkstation Live LS-CH1.0TL unit.

I don't know how different the hardware or the firmware on that is.

_________________
Tony


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:38 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 27
Location: Denmark
I'm currently trying out this solution (viewtopic.php?f=39&t=21001&start=0) with my WD15EADS drive.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 3:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 27
Location: Denmark
Still getting the same error ('E16 - unable to locate internal HDD' error) after using the guide abow. :cry:

Even added a jumper on the drives pin 5+6 (force 1.5GB PHY).

I'll try to flash the firmware again later... :|


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 17
I notice from the image above that this is a WD15EADS-00P8B0. I had this same error 16 with a WD10EADS-00P8B0, and changed to WD5000AAVS-00ZTB0, which is a 500GB WD Green with 8K buffer, and that worked fine.

It seems the drives ending in "00P8B0" always report E16 with Linkstation Pro after reboot, even though they appear to be working fine? If you run a disk check, the error is cleared (until reboot again).

_________________
Tony


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 6:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 27
Location: Denmark
I don't think the drive is the issue here - currently I'm seeing the same E16 error when trying to reinstall the original Samsung HD501LJ (500GB) drive.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 17
Did you just put the old drive back in or did you go through the upgrade procedure (re-initialise software, etc)?

Can you get to the web admin interface and run a drive check? This cleared the error for me, but the error returned after cold reboot (power off/on).

Are the shares accessible at all, i.e. is it actually working ok, even though E16 shown? In my case it worked ok even when E16 shown!

I kept my original drive in tact the whole time, and it always worked ok when I plugged it back in. I have also successfully upgraded to a new drive, and that has been working fine for over a week now.

_________________
Tony


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 27
Location: Denmark
First I tried to install the old drive without any changes. When that didn't work, I updated the firmware - still same error.
I can access the web interface, data, format and check the drive without any problems... intill reboot.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited