Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:42 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:01 pm 
Total Newbie

I have a Linkstation live - HS-DH1000GL v2 running stock firmware 2.11.

I would like to have the changes I have made in the proftpd.conf file to remain after a re-boot. I have tried all of the suggestions in this forum. I have tried modifying the nas_configgen file but on a reboot- this file gets overwritten. I have tried modifing the /ect/init.d/ftpd.sh file but that also gets overwritten on reboot.

Is there something I am missing?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:02 pm 
Total Newbie

I really need to know the answer to this aswell, if anyone can help?

(sorry, I know it's an old thread)

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:36 pm 
Total Newbie

update:

Finally been successful at this. Surprisingly simple. NOTE: This is on a Linkstation Live V2 (LS-CHL). Everything you do is totally at your own risk. The idea behind it simply to change the script which replaces your proftpd.conf on reboot to no longer do so.

WARNING: if you do this, any changes to ftp configuration in the web interface will no longer have an effect. I.E. you're gonna have to manage the whole thing from the console from now on.

So, here's what I did:

Step 1:
- Go to /etc/init.d/
- "cp ftpd.sh newftpd.sh"
- this makes a copy of ftpd.sh that WON'T be replaced automatically on reboot, which is what we want.

Step 2:
- "vi newftpd.sh"
- delete line 17 where it says "/usr/local/sbin/nas_configgen -c proftpd"
- this removes the code which automatically reverts your proftpd.conf
- it has to be done in a totally different script as ftpd.sh is also replaced on reboot.
- save changes and exit newftpd.sh

Step 3:
- "cp rcS oldrcS" (taking a backup, just in case)

Step 4:
- "vi rcS"
- go to line 90
- see where it says "ftpd.sh"? replace that that with newftpd.sh