Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:40 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:43 pm 
Total Newbie

I posted this in the wrong place, so apologies for this - Hopefully this is the right place!!

As above, I have a Linkstation Pro with the above error.

Having relocated my Linkstation I now have the above error, is there any way I can rectify this or is this now a expensive BRICK!!!

Please help!!

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:29 am 

It sounds like a HDD failure. Which is recoverable... apparently.
I've currently got the same problem and will attempt a fix as soon as I get time.

You first need to determine if you have a V1 or a V2 LS Pro (http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/LinkstationProLiveDifferences) as the fix process is different - it's easier on the V1.
Fix details http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Upgrade_%28or_replace%29_the_existing_LinkStation_hard_drive.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:22 am 
Site Admin

Hi guys,

also this article will be indispensable to you, most likely...

REVIVE_your_arm9_box_from_scratch

KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:51 am 

I'm not having much luck with this.

I'm trying to follow the steps in the Revive_your_arm9_box_from_scratch.

On the TFTP Boot step (3)...
  • When I turn on the LS is goes into the HDD failure mode (red error LED flashing 6 times, green power LED pulsing, beeps in the high/low siren tones).
  • If I carry on regardless, TFTP Boot does seem to work - it goes through the "Listening on port..." and successfully pulls the two files.
  • The LS then goes silent, but the LED pattern continues for about 30 seconds.
  • The green power LED then goes off, the red error LED pulses on/off, and the beeps change to just a straight beep beep pattern.