Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:55 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 1652
Location: United States of America
I remember someone was complaining about the fan for the LS-GL being too loud. I got my LS-GL fan going, that thing is sounds like a car lost its breaks and is skidding on concrete. I usually don't hear the fan since it's off most of the time, but when it's on... I'm going to the computer store to replace that thing. Thought I'd let you guys know since someone else had a similar problem.

_________________
http://www.opifer.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
Must be another cheap batch of fans. Mine is quite even on full pelt.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 6:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 1652
Location: United States of America
lb_worm wrote:
Mine is quite even on full pelt

Did you replace your fan already, or is yours stock?

_________________
http://www.opifer.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 6:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
Mine is a stock one. I thought that it looked a fairly good item.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 6:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 1652
Location: United States of America
Okay, I guess Buffalo ripped me off then. Fans are cheap so I don't care that much. I'll pick one up within the hour. I think I asked before, but I don't remember where...sorry, but is the header for the fan in the LS-Gl the standard 3-pronged?

_________________
http://www.opifer.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:23 pm 
Offline
Betatester

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:45 am
Posts: 64
My fan is virtually silent, and i've not had much noise from the unit when I push it hard. Brand new, out of box about 4 days now. Unit came with 1.02 firmware on it. Same goes for a friend of mine whom got his same order/shipment as me (cdw.ca)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
i just searched a bit in the docs at arm.com and found some docs here:
http://www.arm.com/documentation/Boards_and_Firmware/index.html

in the following document (which is not for the LS Pro board) it is mentioned that there are two ways of JTAG-Ports, via a real JTAG Port like all other boxes have and a USB-JTAG Port.
http://www.arm.com/pdfs/DUI0224C_pb926ej-s_user_guide.pdf

take a look at Chapter 2.3.

is there any chance the LS Pro board has something like that?

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 1652
Location: United States of America
mindbender wrote:
is there any chance the LS Pro board has something like that?

Do you mean a real-jtag port? :? ? I'll look at the board when I get home. I know there's the 4-pin serial port, I vaguely remember seeing an'ther empty pin slot, but I don't recall off the top of my head what it was.

_________________
http://www.opifer.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 8:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
jonli447 wrote:
I vaguely remember seeing an'ther empty pin slot


i think you are referring to the unused Sata-port on the back. we at least think it is one.

i just thought about the possibility...

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 2:23 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:41 pm
Posts: 18
Location: United States of America
Hello,

I think the 2x5 header CN3 is the JTag port. A normal ARM JTAG Port is 14 or 20 pins. There are some ARM boards that use the Altera/Atmel 10 Pin format. http://hubbard.engr.scu.edu/embedded/arm/boards/index.html

This document has JTAG Pinouts.
http://www.amontec.com/pub/amt_ann003.pdf

Over Thanksgiving weekend I hope to break out the oscilloscope and see if I can figure it out.

73 Eric


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:18 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 1652
Location: United States of America
EricC wrote:
I think the 2x5 header CN3 is the JTag port.

Wow, please let us know what you find out. It'd be great if we could get serial and jtag access to the box before we start the true development. I don't think it'd be that difficult to make jtag kits for this either. All we need is the proper jtag software and we're ready to go.:)

_________________
http://www.opifer.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
EricC wrote:
This document has JTAG Pinouts.

http://www.amontec.com/pub/amt_ann003.pdf

this doc seems to be valuable anyway.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:41 pm
Posts: 18
Location: United States of America
Hello,

The CN3 pinout does not match the Altera pinout.

1 3.3v VREF
2 0V ?
3 0V Ground
4 2.4v Input
5 0V Ground
6 2.4v Input
7 3.3v TDO?
8 0V ?
9 3.3V TRST_N? (Just putting the probe on resets)
10 0V ?

I noticed some leds flashing after I put the probe on pin 9. Looking at the serial port output it showed the board rebooting. I need to read up on JTAG and see if I can get the hardware and software to figure out what the pinout is.

73 Eric


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
There is not much flash to see, only 256KB. Good to see that you are trying to gain access :) I'd imagine it maybe a serial EPPROM device?

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
any progress in looking at accessing the flash?

or given up?

some info:
the HS-DHGL does NOT have this bootserver included which is needed for the small linktheatre....
http://66.249.93.104/translate_c?hl=en&langpair=ja%7Cen&u=http://www.yamasita.jp/linkstation/0612/061220.html

what do they guys think? they sell a homeserver-box and it is not compatible?
unbelievable...

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited