Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:06 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:55 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 2
Hi,

I picked up a LS Live 250 a few days ago. I just finished installing the LS Pro Genlink image onto it, and it works very well.

The installation process principles are the same as for the LS Pro, but there seem to be some differences in the way that booting is handled. Here is a quick overview of what I did, I can post further details on request.

1) Fetch original firmware + W32 flasher tool from Buffalo FTP server
2) Unpack, modify and repack rootfs (hddrootfs.buffalo.updated) to spawn telnetd. Simply edit /etc/init.d/rcS to include the line

Code:
/usr/sbin/telnetd -l /bin/bash 


This gives telnet root access to the stock firmware. Flash this firmware copy using the windows flash tool (It is in japanese but you can figure it out by clicking around ... the password entry field wants to have the 'admin' password).

3) To enter "EM" mode (use initrd as root fs), de-ubootize, ungzip and loop-mount initrd.buffalo, then modify /linuxrc to always use ramdisk booting mode (look at the bottom of the file ...). Also enable telnetd in /etc/init.d/rcS like in step 2. Unmount, gzip and re-add the u-boot header with mkimage from the u-boot tools. Then scp the resulting initrd.buffalo to the LS and replace the existing one in /boot. Sync, reboot and telnet into the LS again.

4) Partition the HD (leaving only sda1 intact) and install Genlink up to the reboot step. To enable booting Genlink, generate another initrd.buffalo (like in step 3) where /linuxrc only consists of:

Code:
#!/bin/sh 
 
export PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin
 
echo "---- in linuxrc ---"
 
. /usr/local/bin/libbuffalo
 
mount proc /proc -t proc
 
# set the system time from the hardware clock
hwclock -s
date
 
## Setup Micon communication port and send flash-boot complete message.
miconapl -b -a boot_flash_ok
### miconapl -a led_set_cpu_mcon off
### miconapl -a led_set_on_off off
### miconapl -a led_set_brink off
### miconapl -a fan_set_speed full
 
umount /proc
umount -a
exit 0





Install that initrd.buffalo in /boot, sync and reboot. Voila, genlink should come up after 1-2 minutes.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:11 pm
Posts: 658
I can't figure out why you would spend the extra money on a LS Live and then install genlink or openlink on it?

_________________
My completely scratch built 832 push-pull tube amplifier with Padauk frame. It matches my custom mini-ITX machine.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
extra money??

http://geizhals.at/eu/a235003.html

http://geizhals.at/eu/a208411.html

they cost the same....

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
duncanthrax

awesome what you achieved in that short time.

it shows me that you found all the needed information here + the wiki ;)

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 am
Posts: 1652
Location: United States of America
Is the LS Live even available in the US?

_________________
http://www.opifer.net


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:11 pm
Posts: 658
my bad. there used to be a $30-40 difference. Welcome to the community.

_________________
My completely scratch built 832 push-pull tube amplifier with Padauk frame. It matches my custom mini-ITX machine.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:16 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 2
Actually the LS live was two Euros cheaper than the Pro at the shop where I ordered it :D

Also, here in Germany the LS Live models are widely available whereas the Pro ones seem to be more exotic.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:01 pm
Posts: 5
Location: United States of America
is there any way to put the "live" firmware on the Pro? that will solve all of my problems!
i purchased the Pro too early - they didn't have the live yet :(


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:14 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 714
I think CamelJockeyBoy means
he flashed his LS Live to a Pro by accident and would like to know how to flash it
back to its origional Live Firmware :D


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:55 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
well...so CamelJockeyBoy has an LS Live he flashed to an LS Pro by accident...

lets say it that way:
...

Deleted by The Editor.


...thats how you can recover your live from being a pro Razz

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:47 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 714
shame there isnt enough room to extract hddrootfs.buffalo.updated from hddrootfs.img..


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
Shonk wrote:
shame there isnt enough room to extract hddrootfs.buffalo.updated from hddrootfs.img..


you mean we should upload an extracted LS Pro/LS live image?

we maybe can upload an extracted LS Pro image as it does not use the closed source mediaserver....but we cannot do it for the live firmware for legal reasons.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 4:24 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 4:20 am
Posts: 5
Location: California
Hi all,

I'm a newbie and don't have any clue about linux or telnet access, but I have a Linkstation Live and I hate the mediabolic server software that came installed. I'd like to install TwonkyMedia software on the Linkstation Live, but I don't even know enough to follow the original poster's instructions to gain telnet access. Any suggestions? I don't want to exchange the Live for a Pro because I've already ripped 4000+ songs on the drive. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:54 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 5:32 am
Posts: 6
Location: Hell
Enough asking CameljockeyBoy. You were warned several times. Come back in a year.

_________________
Please don't force me to kill you.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited