Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:37 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:20 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:14 am
Posts: 9
Hello, I can connect my WD 500GB passport and to backups, to copy content from USB to my new LS Pro Duo Raid 0.
But if I connect an external enclosure with a 3TB disk or a Segate 1.5TB with external power, they are seen but not showed as storage (not mounted?), so even if it lets me select it as target or source in a backup, it gives an error inmediatly and there is no backup (copy).
Is there a way to mount it, or something? I want to avoid copying my 4.5TB USB to USB in may pc to the 500GB disk before doing each small copy.

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:49 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Wild guess: your "non-functional" external boxes use a GPT
for partition information. Your LS is not able to handle GPT.
This would lead to the symptoms you described.
GPT = GUID Partition Table = needed for ANY disk bigger
than 2 TB.
Solution? Use a disk smaller than 2 TB and partition the beast
using MBR (MasterBootRecord).

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:25 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:14 am
Posts: 9
kenatonline wrote:
Wild guess: your "non-functional" external boxes use a GPT
for partition information. Your LS is not able to handle GPT.
This would lead to the symptoms you described.
GPT = GUID Partition Table = needed for ANY disk bigger
than 2 TB.
Solution? Use a disk smaller than 2 TB and partition the beast
using MBR (MasterBootRecord).


Thanks for the answer! (doing that with a 500GB disk....very slow process)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited