Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:27 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Buffalo LS-640L, Dead?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:02 am 
Total Newbie

Hi guys,

Apologies if i've posted in the wrong forum.

I have a Buffalo LS-640L NAS, containing a 1TB HDD.
It had always worked flawlessly for me. I'd never installed any software to access the drive. I've just turned on my
windows box (Win XP, Win 7) and the drive has appeared in the 'Network' section of Windows Explorer. I can then access
the drive for read/write purposes etc with no issues. Alternatively I would access it via OS X by using finder > Connect to server > smb:\\<ip addr>

Then, one day, I turned the NAS on, and it wouldn't appear anywhere on my LAN. The NAS booted up as per normal, all lights
stopped flashing. Everything looked good. I've tried multiple routers, ethernet cables etc.

The NAS *did*, at this point, obtain an IP address from my router via DHCP (i'd never statically assigned an address via
the NAS web interface). ARP completed, and I could ping the NAS from any PC on our LAN/Wireless LAN.

The issue was still present, though. Even though I could ping the NAS, I was unable to telnet/ssh to it, and attempting to connect via SMB/CIFS/telnet on port 80 etc, would all result in 'connection refused' type messages.

Unable to resolve the issue for some time, last night, I resorted to reading some tips online + the instruction manual, and decided reluctantly, to try a factory reset on the NAS. I powered the device down. I then held in the function button, turned the power switch on. The function light flashed blue. As insctructed, I then pushed the function button again, supposedly commencing the 'factory reset.'