Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:54 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Maybe you can try to redirect the output of your direct
sshd call to a file on the share to get a clue what is going on?

Can you look at the output of "dumpnf" if SUPPORT_SFTP is "1"?
Code:
java -jar ....... -c "dumpnf > /mnt/array1/share/mynf"

Maybe you have to add the path to dumpnf (I can't look at my LS
at the moment to lookup the path myself).

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:12 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:34 am
Posts: 334
Yes SUPPORT_SFTP is set to: "1"

?

Regards,
Stonie.

_________________
KuroHG - UBoot 1.2, foonas-em & Debian Wheezy - 3.4 Kernel
Kurobox Pro - Dave's Lenny-armel
LS-WVL - opened
LS-XHL - Squeeze Bootstrap
LS-VL - Squeeze Bootstrap


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:27 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Did you tried to redirect output of the sshd start to
a file on your share so you can have a look at that?

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:25 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:34 am
Posts: 334
Hi kenatonline,

I found the problem after hacking about with cat,tail,sed etc... Turns out it was simple!

looks like a typo on the wiki...
Code:
java -jar acp_commander.jar -t 192.168.1.2 -ip 192.168.1.2 -pw password -c "/etc/init.d/sshd.sh restart 2> /mnt/array1/share/sshd_start"
Standard error reported: /etc/sshd_config line 97: Bad yes/without-password/forced-commands-only/no argument: Yes

So It's the capital “Y” in "yes" that caused the issue! I used sed to remove the suspect line (sed '/PermitRootLogin Yes/d' /etc/sshd_config > /etc/sshd_config_clean)
Then copied the clean file back over and reapplied, without the capital "Y" :
Code:
-c "echo PermitRootLogin yes >> /etc/sshd_config"

Now using my private key to connect I'm in! :)
Code:
ssh root@192.168.1.2 -i /home/stonie/ls-wxl.openStockFirware/authorized_keys


Do you want me to update the wiki page?
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Ope ... ware_LS-VL

Thanks for your help.

Cheers
Stonie.

_________________
KuroHG - UBoot 1.2, foonas-em & Debian Wheezy - 3.4 Kernel
Kurobox Pro - Dave's Lenny-armel
LS-WVL - opened
LS-XHL - Squeeze Bootstrap
LS-VL - Squeeze Bootstrap


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Sorry about that typo. My only excuse is, that I typed all the command lines
by hand.
I corrected the wiki guide.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:40 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:34 am
Posts: 334
I learnt some new tricks in the process of working it out, so no problem ;)

Cheers,
Stonie.

_________________
KuroHG - UBoot 1.2, foonas-em & Debian Wheezy - 3.4 Kernel
Kurobox Pro - Dave's Lenny-armel
LS-WVL - opened
LS-XHL - Squeeze Bootstrap
LS-VL - Squeeze Bootstrap


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:13 pm
Posts: 5
Not sure how off topic this is considering the previous messages, but here goes. I just got an LS-WX2.0TL and have successfully configured it such that I can log in via ssh as root. I installed ipkg so that I could put nfs-utils on only to find that the unit doesn't have the kernel modules for NFS. I haven't been too successful finding a pre-built kernel for firmware 1.37 nor any real info on how to accomplish this. Is putting Debian on the only way? Does anyone have any other suggestions, links, incantations I can pursue? Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:43 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:34 am
Posts: 334
I have not given it a crack yet but I think this is your best bet: http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Deb ... _on_LS-WXL

_________________
KuroHG - UBoot 1.2, foonas-em & Debian Wheezy - 3.4 Kernel
Kurobox Pro - Dave's Lenny-armel
LS-WVL - opened
LS-XHL - Squeeze Bootstrap
LS-VL - Squeeze Bootstrap


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:25 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
DragonTome wrote:
...
I installed ipkg so that I could put nfs-utils on only to find that the unit doesn't have the kernel modules for NFS. I haven't been too successful finding a pre-built kernel for firmware 1.37 nor any real info on how to accomplish this. Is putting Debian on the only way? Does anyone have any other suggestions, links, incantations I can pursue? Thanks.

If you found nfs-utils in the feed, you had the wrong feed for your box.
"cs08q1armel" is the right feed. And this feed does NOT contain the nfs-utils.
I used some selfbuild nfs-utils with firmware 1.36 and the stock kernel, which
you can find here:
http://downloads.buffalo.nas-central.org/Users/kenatonline/NFSKernel/nfstools.tar.gz
The kernel of firmware 1.37 should contain nfs. You can check this with:
Code:
cat /proc/filesystems

You should find "nfsd" there.
But there is also a self-build kernel 2.6.31.8 available.
http://downloads.buffalo.nas-central.org/Users/kenatonline/Kernel-2.6.31.8/
But be aware that I haven't had the time to test it myself yet.
I will provide a new version of the nfs-utils somewhen in the future.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:13 pm
Posts: 5
Ah, Ok. I followed the instructions on the wiki here:
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Category:LS-WXL

I also checked my /proc/filesystem prior to posting here and found that while nfs is listed there, it is marked as nodev. I assumed this meant kernel mods weren't present, but upon reflection it probably wouldn't be listed there at all in that case. ( Honestly, I'm not a total noob...well maybe in this particular area I am :D )

If I understand I should uninstall all packages from ipkg, change to the new repo, and then build nfstools for myself on 1.37, config and launch nfsd. Sound about right?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:18 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Did you changed the ipkg.conf according to the guide? Then
you shouldn't have seen a nfs-util package.

Important is, that there is a "nfsd" and not only a "nfs".

I am using the 1.36 stock kernel from Buffalo and my "old"
nfs-util package and do have NFS access then.

If you want to know more about configuring nfs, you can
have a look here:
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/NFS_for_Beginners

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:13 pm
Posts: 5
Ok, I verified the entry I copied from the wiki IS in my /opt/etc/ipkg.conf AND that it does allow me to install nfs-utils. This is the entry:

src cs05q3 http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optwa ... oss/stable

That package's version of nfsd segfaults when trying to run.

My /proc/filesystems are as follows:

root@linkstation:~# cat /proc/filesystems
nodev sysfs
nodev rootfs
nodev bdev
nodev proc
nodev sockfs
nodev pipefs
nodev anon_inodefs
nodev tmpfs
nodev inotifyfs
nodev devpts
ext3
ext2
nodev ramfs
nodev nfs
nodev nfs4
nodev nfsd
nodev jffs2
nodev autofs
nodev fuse
fuseblk
nodev fusectl
xfs
nodev rpc_pipefs
nodev ubifs
nodev usbfs

Since nfs-utils should NOT be in that repo, it seem like I shouldn't use it. I have removed everything installed via ipkg when I installed nfs-utils (portmap, ncurses, etc.) Does this mean nfstools.tar.gz is the way to go?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:05 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
You will need portmap from the ipkg feed "cs08q1armel".
Everything else should be part of nfstools.tar.gz.
I am using exactly this combination on a LS with stock
kernel 2.6.31.8.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:14 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:13 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for all the help. That has allowed me to get NFS started using the .tar and reinstalling portmap and e2fslibs from ipkg. I have a follow up question as to where I would place an nfs.conf (or equivalent) to statically assign ports for things like lockd, statd, etc. Given the firewall set ups in my home network I would like all my NFS servers/clients to use fixed ports. In my current Linux distros they are set in /etc/sysconfig/nfs but the filesystem on the NAS doesn't have that location. Thanks again for all the assistance getting this worked out and running.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:30 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Sorry, but I do not have any clue, because I never tried to
do something like that myself.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited