Buffalo NAS-Central Forums
http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/

/dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???
http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=15331
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Paul1975 [ Tue Feb 17, 2009 3:30 pm ]
Post subject:  /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???

Firstly Hi to all of you on the forum, this is my first post & was hoping that one of you may have seen this issue & know a possible fix. I have just increased the size of my / partition using pmagic live CD with this guide, http://buffalo.nas-central.org/wiki/Res ... ic_live_cd , & my LS2 boots fine, I've also installed various software which works ok but the /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot & the Disk full LED constantly flashes, I can manually mount /dev/hda3 to /mnt/hda & it works fine, my samba shares are all ok & I can read/write data fine but I obviously would like the /dev/hda3 to mount correctly at every boot, not sure if my fstab needs tweaking (I dont think it does) but any help/advice would be much appreciated. I have also ran the echo -n XXXX > /dev/ttyS0 command to turn the LED off but its not ideal to keep doing it at every boot, thanks in advance.

Paul.

Author:  andre [ Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???

Well, you've got to provide more information, "mount" and /etc/fstab.

Author:  Paul1975 [ Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???

Thanks for the response Andre, Here's my fstab which is the same as it was before I ran pmagic,

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
/dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults,noatime,errors=remount-ro 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda3 /mnt/hda ext3 defaults,noatime 0 0

I have also checked the avr_evtd to see if that was ok & it seems fine, not sure if that could cause this issue but I was just trying to eliminate a few things, any advice appreciated thanks.

Paul.

Author:  andre [ Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???

Anything strange when you run dmesg or mount? Are you sure /etc/fstab has got "\n" linebreaks?

Author:  Paul1975 [ Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???

Andre, Thanks again for your response, I've ran dmesg & this is some of the output that might be relevant?

EXT2-fs warning: checktime reached, running e2fsck is recommended
VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem).
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) readonly.
Trying to move old root to /initrd ... failed
Unmounting old root
ext3: No journal on filesystem on ide0(3,3)
EXT2-fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended

I've also ran mount & I'm not sure if /dev/hda3 should be ext2 I thought it was ext3 as shown in fstab, if so can I just run mkfs to convert it to ext3?

~# mount
/dev/hda1 on / type ext3 (rw,noatime,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/hda3 on /mnt/hda type ext2 (rw)

Thanks Andre.

Author:  Paul1975 [ Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???

Andre, I fixed it. I just ran /sbin/mkfs -t ext3 /dev/hda3 & rebooted, hda3 mounted & the flashing LED is gone, I must of formatted the partition as ext2 in pmagic DOH! oh well school boy error. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction & One last question if I can, I would like to move to a 2.6 kernel but I'm a bit worried about bricking my LS2 again (must of bricked it about 10 times now) so is there real benefits in upgrading the kernel as what I really want to do is run Apache2 a bittorrent client & maybe a Media server so I think I can achieve most of this without the 2.6 kernel Although I have not managed to get the Bittorrent working as yet, Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks

Paul.

Author:  andre [ Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???

Can't help you much with kernel 2.6 for the MIPS, sorry. I would go with UBoot. Whether you need a new kernel or not --

Author:  Paul1975 [ Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: /dev/hda3 is not mounting at boot ???

Thanks Andre I'll take alook at Uboot, cheers.

Paul

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC+01:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/