Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:57 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: telnet with freelink
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:36 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:45 pm
Posts: 12
hi all, i can;t seem to get telnet working with freelink. It's permissions rather than access - i get -

Quote:
FreeLink @ Debian GNU/Linux 3.1 LINKSTATION
powered by http://www.linkstationwiki.net/
Have a lot of fun!
login: permission denied


i've tried to edit the login security file as posted on this forum and as below but still no go

Quote:
Edit /etc/pam.d/login and insert a '#' symbol at the beginning of the line that uses pam_securetty.so


Thanks

M


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: telnet with freelink
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:09 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:48 pm
Posts: 63
Have you started the telnet service - /sbin/utelnetd -l /bin/login & ?

_________________
1TB LS-XHL Optware installed with SANE and CUPS running
Two LS2 - configured almost identically (one main, one backup).
Backup LS2 upgraded with IDE-SATA adaptor and a 1TB drive!
Freelink - SAMBA for Windows file access, CUPS for printing, SANE for remote scanning (using an Epson RX560 printer/scanner).
Twonky media server for Roku and PS3.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: telnet with freelink
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 9:18 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:45 pm
Posts: 12
Hi Yavin_master

Yes, well i thought i had - i tried again and get

root@LINKSTATION:~# /sbin/utelnetd -l /bin/login &
[1] 11285
root@LINKSTATION:~# telnetd: starting
port: 23; interface: any; login program: /bin/login
bind: Address already in use

so assuming it's running...

i can telnet but get permission denied so assume it's security.

Cheers

M


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: telnet with freelink
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 9:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
As root, start a different utelnetd from the command line on a different port, say 22 (as log as you don't have SSH installed). If that gives, the wrong user started the original utelnetd. BTW, how did you log in?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: telnet with freelink
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 9:52 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:45 pm
Posts: 12
Andre, i have ssh running and this works fine - i wanted to use Telnet to install twonky. Telnet seems to work but i have no permission to log in.

I could not telnet at all until i ran the service -

i need to run telnet on standard port to use the twonky installer.

Thanks all

M


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: telnet with freelink
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Well kill the old one and start the new one as root. Failing that, apt-get install telnetd


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: telnet with freelink
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:45 pm
Posts: 12
Cheers Andre / Yavin-Master

Got it working now, thanks for your help an advice.

M


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited