Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:38 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:17 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 5
Hi all,

So I have installed Freelink firmware on my LS2 (HD250-LAN) - no problems. The LS now has a STATIC IP address of 192.168.11.150 (I can SSH and ping - so it's all looking good so far). But I now want the LS to get its IP address via DHCP. I have already tried editing the /etc/network/interfaces file as follows:

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

But this didn't work - when I rebooted I was locked out :-( (I have since resolved this issue and am back to having a static IP address again).

Can anyone advise how to set up a working DHCP configuration on my LS and get rid of that static 192.168.11.150 address? My router is already set up with many other DHCP clents, so I'm happy the router is all set up fine. I have looked around these forums but there's nothing so clear about this.

Thanks a lot for any advice.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:25 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14561&p=108996&hilit=time#p108996


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:10 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks Bauldrick, I tried that and get an error telling me apt-get can't find the package. I can ping the IP address from the LS, no problem.

Err http://mirrors.kernel.org stable/main dhcp 2.0pl5-19.1
404 Not Found [IP: 130.239.17.6 80]
Failed to fetch http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/pool/m ... mipsel.deb 404 Not Found [IP: 130.239.17.6 80]
E: Unable to fetch some archives, maybe run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing?

Any ideas?

thanks for your support.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:24 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 5
Scratch that - seems better now. :-)

I ran apt-get update first and then repeated the apt-get install dhcp command - seems good now!

Thanks again!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Come to the safe side:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11861&p=92866&hilit=+interfaces#p92866


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 12:00 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:37 pm
Posts: 4
Hi spanko1245,

I got the same problem.
I changed also to:

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

and I was locked out, too.

How did you proceed to fix that? Only with a connection to a linux system and edit the interface settings?
Can I delete all partitions and than reflash the LS?
Or can I try to get into EM Mode and reflash then?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited