Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Apr 23, 2018 4:43 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:32 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 4
I can't solder. Why did I ever try to upgrade the fan? Anyway...

I pulled out the disk drive and I'm trying to connect it to an old PC running ubuntu live from the CD-ROM. I'm using a Vantec IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter. The drive spins up but when I plug it into the USB port on the PC it doesn't show up.

Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere...but how do I mount this drive to a linux box so I can get my data back?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
you will need to run fix_ext2_ magic ....

http://downloads.buffalo.nas-central.or ... port/i386/ prolly best to run this while booted in Ubuntu or something like that...

This removes a certain type of block/problem that Buff mangled on the LS1,2 & HGs.

After you run that, you will need to mount it as ext2 or ext3.

Post back if you need more details... not sure if this is enough to get you started...

PS. If your box is truly dead, I may be interested in it for parts... ?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:46 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 4
I used ubuntu live and tried fix_ext2_magic but I kept getting messages from fix_ext2_magic that it couldn't open device...

So I tried Knoppix Live and it was able to see 2 out of 3 of the partitions. I am only able to read the 3rd partition but that's OK because that's where the data is stored, right?

So if I back up all that content then I'll have everything, correct?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
That sounds right for a stock LS2 ... the data should all be on partition #3. Good luck at getting it all off and safe...

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited