Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:42 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:33 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 7
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Hi,

I have a problem with my LinkStation 2 and am a bit out of ideas; the LS has been running fine for around 1,5-2 years, currently with Debian etch on it. It is configured to use a static IP address from my local LAN range. I had to shut it down last weekend because of a power shutdown. Normally not a problem, or so I thought.

The LinkStation now still boots up (Power LED is active, green and does not blink), during boot-up the Link/Act LED blinks until after some time it stops to blink (i.e. it keeps active, green). I can hear the HDD working during startup, and to me the LEDs look like they always have looked during the bootup sequence.

However I can no longer ping the LinkStation; the Buffalo tools (NasNavi, Firmware Updater) do not find any LinkStation on the network.

Any ideas how I can re-establish contact with it, or what the reason might be that I suddely cannot contact it? Apart from normal updates via aptitude (upgrade/update) I did not install anything recently, the only major thing was an SSH upgrade I think. But I would never have expected the box to lose connectivity completely.

Any advice is appreciated!

Kind Regards,
Torsten


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 5:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 7
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Hi,

forgot to mention that I used the swappart trick some time ago; I was just able to attach the HDD to my PC via USB and can access the data via ext2ifs. I checked the debian logs (mainly kernel), I however can't see what is wrong with the installation. Is there anything in particular that might prevent the box from initializing TCP/IP or which might have caused an IP change? Is it possible to find out for which IP the system is configured when I can only access the system offline?

Kind regards,
Torsten


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
If networking is active, you should be able to see the device w/ a network scanner ... if you are using DHCP then it may have a new ip address.

Do I understand you to say that you mounted its ext2/3 filesystem on a Window's box? Did you remember to unmount it before disconnecting?

carfesh wrote:
... Is it possible to find out for which IP the system is configured when I can only access the system offline?
...
Torsten


Yes, if you have it mounted again you could look at /etc/network/interfaces ... that would be where either static or dhcp is defined.

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 7
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Quote:
Do I understand you to say that you mounted its ext2/3 filesystem on a Window's box? Did you remember to unmount it before disconnecting?

Well, now that's strange. By unmount you mean remove the drive letters in the ext2ifs control panel? I only unmounted it via the Windows "Safely remove hardware" feature and now the volumes are still detected on Windows (as fs-type linux, swap etc.) but no volume is readable on Windows, it's complaining that they weren't formatted. I just booted the LS up with the HDD, it still boots fine (atleast it looks that way) but Windows does no longer read the partitions. Guess I'll need a LiveCD to revive them?

I just performed a test using Wireshark with the LinkStation attached directly to my notebook. It's completely silent, there's no communication from it on the wire neither when it boots up nor afterwards.

I guess I'll download a LiveCD and try to take a look into the mentioned file and the apt-cache to see if I find a hint. The box was configured for a static IP, not DHCP. However a DHCP server is also available and would grant the same IP to the LS. I also verified that the cable is ok (and the link LED also shows that a link exists).


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:23 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 7
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Hi,

for some reason my /etc/network/interfaces said:

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.2
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        broadcast 192.168.1.255
        gateway 192.168.1.1

I changed it to:

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.2
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        broadcast 192.168.1.255
        gateway 192.168.1.1


Is it correct that it needs to say "auto eth0"? I just found that by chance in other examples of the file.

Now I can ping the LinkStation and everything works fine, except ssh. I can webmin to the box, but telnet only works as user, not root. Is there any way to re-gain access to ssh? Apparently something must have gone wrong with the ssh upgrade.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:15 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 7
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Ok, so via webmin I was able to re-activate the ssh service, now everything is running fine again. Time for a backup of the debian partition.. thanks!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited