Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:47 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:53 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:48 pm
Posts: 2
Hi all,

I apologize for the eventual mistakes, I'm still learning english ;-).

I am in my second year of cloud computing and IT security study.

Two years ago, I got a Lacie Network Space 2 without hard drive. Helped by my teacher, I setup your OS on it to make of it a powerful and flexible NAS. It was pretty good. Having a ssh and linux environment… :)

This year I have to make a little network and systems infrastructure for my annual project school. I’ll describe it later. To be inventive and have a better mark, I choose Lacie for computer's hardware.

So, this network infrastructure is designed for a developers team. Four machines will constitute it (Firewall, server deposits, server for documentations, backup server). I want to do it in this way:

1) A firewall, named London, on a Lacie Wireless Space with OpenBSD. It will be used as router, DHCP server too. It will enabled the other network’s computers to communicate between them and outwardly (WAN) in security.

2) A deposits server for developers, named Paris, on a Lacie Cloudbox with a linux distribution.

3) An other called Madrid for the technical and user documentation on a Lacie Network Space 2 with a linux distribution too. (Exactly like I had done for the NAS but without the services preinstalled: torrent client, network share, etc… ).

4) And the last called NewYork that will be used like a storage server on a RAID 1 (mirroring) Lacie Network Space MAX with OpenBSD for OS.

----------------------------
Aptitude in preference or another package manager have to be installed on Paris and Madrid.

I have already bought London (Lacie Wireless Space), Paris (Lacie Cloudbox) and Madrid (Lacie Network Space 2) but not NewYork. I'm scanning small ads for that :-).


I would like to know if « Wake On Lan » is enabled by their motherboard (for all of them) ?

Are the Lacie Network Space 2 and the Lacie CloudBox really different or it’s just a colors’ stuff ?

Can you tell me what I have to do to setup the OSs for Paris and Madrid (on their respective machine)?

----------------------------

I thank you for reading this long post and for helping me!

Regards, Adam.

ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2604
Seems as if you choose the wrong forum to post your stuff.
This is the forum part of nas-central.org dealing with the
products of Buffalo, a company located somewhere in asia.
So if the Lacie is not a "rebranded" Linkstation or Terastation,
you will hardly find anyone able to help you here in this forum.

_________________
Please do not use private mail (PN/M) to ask questions. Use the proper forum instead. (me)

If there is no verified backup of a dataset, the dataset, by definition, is unimportant. (c't 2012)

RAID (no matter which level) never ever substitutes a backup. (me)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:37 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:48 pm
Posts: 2
Ah okey... :?

The forum is the good one? http://forum.nas-central.org/viewforum.php?f=46


UPDATE : Yes it looks to be good... Thanks..


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited