Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:07 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 103 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
SpannerInTheWorks I have posted you another drop of avr_evtd to test. Can you give it a go and post me any debug dumps?

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 12:10 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
As you have access to both configuration files, and you can set them both to the same value, you can boot into the kernel and root filesystem you prefer.

interesting. which configuration files are you referring to? on /dev/hda1 or on /dev/hda3?

i hope you do not want to load the any kernel with "root=/dev/hda1" after loading one with "root=/dev/hda3"...this sounds like an infinite loop of kernel-loading.....

besides: i just realized that i could put an additional entry in /dev/hda3/etc/fstab to mount /dev/hda1 to a mountpoint of my choice...or i do it the manual way. both ways of course let us access all configuration files....

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 4:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
boot 2.6 with hda1 || boot 2.4 from hda1
boot 2.6 with hda3 || boot 2.4 from hda1

Where's the loop? Booting a couple of times will always get you into 2.6 somewhere, or 2.4 on /dev/hda1 in case of an error. Beyond that, you can access all configuration files any time.

Be warned messing with rcS.d/* is dangerous. Double-check your scripts!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 6:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
@andre: tried the avr in rcS.d but it did not seem to get executed. I placed it at S25 and added a touch to a file to see if it got called, it did not? Ran chkconfig and it reported okay. Any clues you could offer?

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 7:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
The logger command should give you a syslog/messages/linkstation.log entry in any case. (OpenLink, BTW, probably uses /etc/rc.d/rcS.d/)

I will hopefully receive a patch against 2.6.16 tonight that's supposed to address the AVR start/stop problem on the kernel level. Read more about it at <http://groups.yahoo.com/group/LinkStation_General/message/5186>.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:37 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:28 pm
Posts: 76
Location: United Kingdom (Great Britain)
avr_evtd is now fully functional for the mips.

I can confirm it fixes the 5min reeboot issue.

I no longer use mc_ctld now.

This is great news. Good work lb_worm!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
It is posted up on sourceforge.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:51 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 11:04 am
Posts: 29
Location: Japan
Hi,
I made new loader.o for MIPS (as already mentioned by bauldrick :-).
It may take from HERE.
It is much stable to boot.

And, NetBSD loader for PPC may also takes HERE.
It also includes all of Linux loader.o for PPC(KUROBOX, KUROBOX/HG, LinkStationV1, LinkStation/HG, TeraStation).

# Other NetBSD related archives may get from HERE.

Thanks.

_________________
NetBSD/LinkStation works well :-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2006 8:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
what was the problem with the pci-controller?

in the readme of the mips-loader.o-package i found this changelog:

(2006-06-10)
- Disable PCI-controller on CPU (79RC32434 depend).
- Add a wait(1sec) before copy of the kernel.
- Some typo fixed.

everyone who had problems to load a kernel on the LS2, plz try it with the new loader.o.

if you are using andre's bootloader simply pick loader.o out of the enji's package, rename it to loaderII.o and put it into /bootII

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:44 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 11:04 am
Posts: 29
Location: Japan
@mindbender

what was the problem with the pci-controller?

It was still running PCI Bus-Master DMA.
Disables interrupt was not enough. (sigh...)
It breaks (compressed/uncompressed) kernel image on RAM.
So, disabling PCI-Controller to stop PCI-DMA.

BTW; My handle spelled "Eiji", not "Enji" :-)
Please re-edit the topic tltle again?
Thank you. :-)

_________________
NetBSD/LinkStation works well :-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 3:49 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
It was still running PCI Bus-Master DMA.
Disables interrupt was not enough. (sigh...)
It breaks (compressed/uncompressed) kernel image on RAM.
So, disabling PCI-Controller to stop PCI-DMA.


I see. it doesn`t make a difference for the kernel loaded afterwards.....but it is needed to load the kernel at all.

BTW; My handle spelled "Eiji", not "Enji" :-)
Please re-edit the topic tltle again?
Thank you. :-)


done. i am sorry!

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 4:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 11:04 am
Posts: 29
Location: Japan
I see. it doesn`t make a difference for the kernel loaded afterwards.....but it is needed to load the kernel at all.

Yes, I agree with you.

done. i am sorry!

No problem. Thank you. :-)

_________________
NetBSD/LinkStation works well :-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 6:49 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:24 pm
Posts: 1
How well does this work? Has this been contributed upstream (the official NetBSD project)? Is there still development going on? I'd be willing to help trying out any binaries if this helps, since I got an L2 box. However, I still have to get an USB/Serial adapter, because none of my newer system supports serial connectors anymore.

I only found this, but this appears to only be PPC related: http://www.netbsd.org/ports/sandpoint/i ... ation.html


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 103 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited