Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:28 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 11:31 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:08 pm
Posts: 8
Hi,

I have a LS2 with Openlink installed. My knowledge of Linux is slim, so please accept my apologies for stupid questions.

I've got an external USB hard drive attached to the LS which I back up to every night using a very simple shell script via the copy command (I would prefer rsync, but never had the time to get it working). This all works fine.

What I'd like to do is put a very cheap 'n' cheerful NAS in my garage (just a 3.5" drive in a NAS enclosure) and attach it to my network, and do a second copy there. This way if anything terrible happened (eg. a fire) I won't lose all my photos etc. I can't be bothered to keep doing copies to DVDs.

My question is - how do I get the LS to 'see' this second network drive. Will the LS be able to map to it? How do I get it to recognise it? Do I have to format it using the Linux shell?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:51 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:17 pm
Posts: 80
Hi lsfan,
can you access the NAS in your Garage with a normal Windows-Client?
If you can do that you have only to mount the SMB-Share in your ls2.
Here an example:

mount -t cifs //ip_of_your_nas/smb_share /mount/point -o username=user,password=xxx

http://linux.die.net/man/8/mount.cifs

kimx


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 2:20 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:08 pm
Posts: 8
Hi Kimx,

Thanks for the reply...very useful info and I'll give it a go!

Cheers
LSFan


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 4:01 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:36 am
Posts: 15
Location: United Kingdom (Great Britain)
As an alternative (which I prefer due to the filename mangling that windows sharing sometimes does) I'd use NFS if the NAS supports it, so you'd then do:

Code:
mount -t nfs 192.168.xx.xx:/nas-drive /mnt/hda/share/nas


Note how I've mounted it within you're existing /mnt/hda/share folder? That lets you access it without creating new shares, etc in samba, etc and should be visible over your network/existing scripts to simplify things.

Of course, this won't work through reboots, so add:

Code:
192.168.xx.xx:/nas-drive    <tab>   /mnt/hda/share/nas  <tab>  nfs <tab> rsize=8192,wsize=8192,bg,noatime,tcp <tab> 0 <tab> 0

To your /etc/fstab (just add it to the bottom).

Couple of notes:
192.168.xx.xx is the IP of your NAS device
/nas-drive is the network path your NAS device shares
Where you see <tab> in the /etc/fstab hit the tab key instead of spaces.

_________________
Andy Brown
Linux / Network Engineer for UK ISP

Buffalo LS210D 3Tb running 1.63-0.04 Marvell PJ4Bv7 @795.44 BogoMIPS
- telnet enabled
- SSHD enabled
- root'd

OLD: LS2 version 2.05 MIPS (399.76 bogomips)
- Dual IDE HDD's (original 160Gb and additional 200Gb)
- SNMPD and NFS exports


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:02 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:08 pm
Posts: 8
Fantastic, andyb, all understood. Haven't had a chance to have a play over Christmas, so will give this a go too...

Cheers
Colin


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited