Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:27 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: mp3 encoder on my LS2
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:20 am 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
I've tried a couple (bladeenc, lame, toolame), but after ripping a track to .wav in >or< 30 secs it starts to encode it, this tells me it's going to be 19hrs ETA!!

top will always show either lame or bladeenc etc... running at 94-7% - If I leave it 10 mins and try the 'converted' track, it will have indeed converted about 2 seconds of the song. On my LS1 this would take 7-8 mins for the same track (still pants, and not really worth it, but thought the LS2 might try harder)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:39 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
this is just a wild guess:
the LS2 does not have hardware floating point support like the ppc-boxes.

that might be a reason why it takes longer. just look at the benchmark wiki page.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 1:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
it that is the issue...**maybe** there is some sort of software fix/patch for this... something software-ish to emulate what ever hardware capability the mips might be missing?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:18 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
Nothing I can do then?

I read a liitle and, from what I can tell, you either reconfigure EVERYthing with -msoft-float (or something?), or compile a 'magic' kernel with emulation in (all I could see was nwfpe, that's arm??)

:(


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited