Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:38 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:52 pm 
Total Newbie

A few days ago I got the diag light blinking red 5x. I'm not looking for hacks or even upgrades. Buffalo has agreed to swap the model out with a new one, but of course I need to figure out how to rescue the files off the drive, if that's even possible.

I've never run linux and am currently on an XP machine, though we have a mac in the house if that's easier.

So, my options are:
1. Return the drive RMA, say goodbye to data
2. Keep drive, open it up, get an adapter, potentially save data, but likely void warranty and possibly data, since it could be gone anyway.

I need an idiot's guide to seeing if I can recover my data, if you'd be so kind. Funny that I was using this to back my stuff up...

Appreciations in advance.
Lindsay

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:32 am 
Site Admin

i deleted the second thread as it was a double post.

well. first of all a question:

did you use a usb-disk for backuping the things from the internal harddisc?

if yes then it is easy to access the data on the usbdisk even in windows after installing http://fs-driver.org/
ext3 is used on the usbdisks as well as on the data partition on the internal hdd.

if the data is on the internal hdd:
here you have 2 guides how to disassemble the case on one page:
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/Di ... inkStation

the hardest part is to get off the plastic piece described in Step 2. i used the barbaric version....but there are no traces that i ever opened the case....

with fs-driver.org you should be able to access the data partition of the internal hdd as well.

come on....the data normally is more important...if you do it carefully it won`t be noticable at all....

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:50 pm 
Total Newbie