Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:37 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 3:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:35 pm
Posts: 55
I downloaded the updated dropbear from the downloads section. I transferred the file to my share folder and then using Telnet unpacked it. Folling the README file, I then created the new keys, after deleting the old ones. Then I rebooted and all APPEARS to work. Have I done all the required steps to update with the new Dropbear? I used "tar zxvf yourfile.tgz" to unpack the file. I assume this installed the file as well?? Hope I've done the correct thing. Sorry if this is really basic, still learning Linux!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 5:38 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:33 am
Posts: 401
Location: United States of America
That sounds right. Did you unpack the tgz file from the filesystem root?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 6:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:35 pm
Posts: 55
Not sure about that!! I was logged in under root which I think is what you meant! I changed directory to /mnt/hda/share and then unpacked the file with tar zxvf.
I assume this is correct?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 7:08 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:33 am
Posts: 401
Location: United States of America
No, I meant the filesystem root (/). To change to the filesystem root use the command:

cd /

That's where you want the dropbear.tgz to be. Then use the command:

tar -zxvf packagename.tgz

Then you can remove the package:

rm packagename.tgz

You may need to create a startup link depending on which firmware you have installed. OpenLink and the old mod-v3 firmware already have a dropbear startup link and should work as-is. Otherwise create a startup link:

ln -s /etc/init.d/dropbear /etc/rc.d/rc2.d/S05dropbear

I might as well add this to the dropbear README now :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 9:13 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:35 pm
Posts: 55
Ah now the mists clear!! Thanks for the info. Have reinstalled and all appears well.

Thanks for the advice.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:06 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:01 pm
Posts: 22
Frontalot,

wanting to update dropbear on my ls I with openlink 0.5b installed, I downloaded the new dropbear from the download area, moved it to the share folder on the ls, used telnet to connect to my ls, then moved ppc-dropbear-0.46-1.tgz to the filesystem root, then untarred it. Is this correct? Is there anything else I need to do? Haven't been deleting anything old as I don't know how to. Would I better have done that?

Thanks for your help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:10 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:01 pm
Posts: 22
Think I messed something up completely. The new dropbear was exclusively designed for ls II, correct? How can I correct what I did?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 6:24 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:33 am
Posts: 401
Location: United States of America
This is answered in http://buffalo.nas-central.org/forum/index.php?action=vthread&forum=2&topi%20c=25


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited