Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 1:17 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: firmware update error
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 5:45 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 88
Hi, I'm trying to use the firmware updater to update my LS2 firmware with the freelink 13.37 firmware. I've tried the password from the wiki (1NIf_2yUOlRDpYZUVNqboRpMBoZwT4PzoUvOPUp6l), but the it says it's the wrong password. I've also tried with no password, but the update fails.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 12:35 am 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
maxnutter wrote:
1NIf_2yUOlRDpYZUVNqboRpMBoZwT4PzoUvOPUp6l


That's if you want to untar the image on hdd, won't work with firmware updater.

maxnutter wrote:
I've also tried with no password, but the update fails.


Have you tried connecting via ssh after the "failed" message - address will be 192.168.11.150

IIRC you always receive "update failed" when using firmware updater on LS2, aslong as you're on 192.168.11.xxx you should be able to ssh in.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 3:07 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 88
thanks for the reply!

so do i not need a password for the updater then?

ssh connections are being refused after the "update failed". :?:


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 8:44 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
maxnutter wrote:
so do i not need a password for the updater then?


No you don't need one, infact doesn't it ask you not to enter one?

What have you on it currently - stock/openlink? Have you tried one of those to see if they work.

Obviously you're firewall etc... is off ..


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 9:13 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 88
it says something like "no password for restoration mode".

i've tried all three, freelink, openlink and stock.

until last week i was running freelink, but then things died (as they have once before), so i decided to re-install (as i have before), but the flasher won't work, so i deleted the first partition to force it into em mode.

i have turned the firewalls off, and used a direct connection (no crossover is needed), and tried it under windows 7 and ubuntu with wine.

i may try it in xp if i can get hold of one.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 10:12 am 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
maxnutter wrote:
tried it under windows 7 and ubuntu with wine.


I've never tried running it from my (K)Ubuntu boxes, and I wouldn't know if it works under Windows 7 (can you run in compatibility mode ?)

If all else fails, hook hdd back up to PC and untar tmpimage on hda1

P.S - I guess you don't have Uboot & foonas-em yet? andre has written something that should make putting this on your box alot easier, and therefor any future mishaps more simple to recover from. May require you sign up to be a beta-tester or not, not sure.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 8:13 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 88
sounds good, where do i sign up, on the foonas page?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 12:49 am 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
maxnutter wrote:
on the foonas page?


nay, click here, and see - not sure if that's kept up-to-date... still.

I think it's still alpha, foxtrot, bravo, beta rev693 kindathing - but I've tested it, ore than once, and works :) pm andre to get it (flashblitzer I think he named it!)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 12:22 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 88
can foonas run torrentflux? that's kind of a deal-breaker for me ...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 10:23 am 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
Sorry, I went OT with this, should have waited until you'd reinstalled before suggesting it.

If you had foonas-em you'd have been able to fix your current problem without removing hdd or using firmware updater etc...

foonas-em page wrote:
About

foonas-em is a small embedded Linux distribution that replaces existing firmware in flash memory on network attached storage devices (although on most platforms it may also be TFTP booted). foonas-em provides a separate operating system and utilities to the main Linux distribution on the hard disk that provide repair, maintenance and operating system installation & upgrade capabilities above and beyond existing manufacturer and third party distributions. foonas-em contains the following features:

* Assorted filesystem repair utilities - ext2, ext3, JFS, ReiserFS and more (depending on platform and flash space)
* Full ftp daemon available at boot
* Full root account telnet access
* A selection of Busybox utilities
* Simple installation of supported OS via web browser using inbuilt web server
* LVM and RAID utilities (depending on platform and flash space)
* U-Boot environment modification utilities (depending on platform bootloader)
* USB Storage support (depending on platform and flash space)
* Localised into English, Spanish and German (online web installer content will be localised in next version)
* ipv6 support (auto-configuration via ipv6 router only)


It's something you should consider after reinstalling freelink, sorry if I've confused matters. Have you tried from XP, or you going to hook hdd up to PC and untar freelink on hda1?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 1:09 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 88
i've not had much luck today with an XP machine: just the same issues, are there instructions for the untar anywhere, and will it destroy the data on it?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 8:05 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 88
i untarred the image to the LS and it still seemed to be in EM mode, so I ran the flasher, which resulted in all 4 lights flashing (bottom 2 red), and said the upgrade had failed, and after reboot i'm detecting it as ip 192.168.1.64, but it is refusing ssh connections!

still reporting that it's in EM mode, but with the different IP.

argh!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 9:41 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
maxnutter wrote:
i'm detecting it as ip 192.168.1.64


Is this the static address you had set up before problems?

Is your entire network 192.168.1.xxx ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 10:05 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 88
Bauldrick wrote:
maxnutter wrote:
i'm detecting it as ip 192.168.1.64


Is this the static address you had set up before problems?

Is your entire network 192.168.1.xxx ?


yes that is the network.

i don't think that was my LS' ip address originally, but i think it changed to that last week when i was trying to flash it originally.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 10:17 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
I might be wrong here, but
Bauldrick wrote:
IIRC you always receive "update failed" when using firmware updater on LS2, aslong as you're on 192.168.11.xxx you should be able to ssh in.


If you're on 192.168.1.xxx and you flash freelink - freelink has no dhcp, but static 192.168.11.150. So once it's finished flashing the flasher can't see the LS because it's at a different address. That doesn't explain why stock/openlink doesn't/didn't work mind.

Did you get this 192.168.1.64 after flashing stock/openlink?

If it isn't a royal pain in the arse, try changing to 192.168.11.x and flash again


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited