Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:13 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 6:35 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
Here's what I've done in the name of science :p

I had u-boot and foonas-em in flash (mtd1,2,3). I got original flash contents and dd'd them in and then did a fresh install of openlink then freelink.

Did what I needed to and then dd'd my backup up u-boot and foonas-em to flash. I then rebooted to test u-boot etc worked (and thought damn, I didn't put vmlinuz in /boot).

So now u-boot can't see boot/vmlinuz and boots into foonas-em.

This is kind of good because I can mount hda1 and create /boot and put vmlinuz in..... except I can't mount hda1 (I can hda3), this makes me think that because I reinstalled with firmware updater it re-mangled blocks on hda1??

So I try and tftp vmlinuz and this loads, but I get no access (why? is it because nc uses 192.168.11.150 and I left freelink ip at 192.168.11.150??)

So that's where I am, is my only option to take out disk (AGAIN!!) or could I run fix_ext2_magic in foonas-em (if that is the problem there). There is no fix_ext2_magic for LS2 by the way :?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:23 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
:oops:

use foonas-em to re-install

:)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:39 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
Have tried this again in this order.
  • Stock LS2
  • Install Freelink via firmware updater
  • Used andre's new tool to fetch and install uboot and foonas-em (and fetch my kernel to /boot)
  • All worked and rebooted to 2.6 kernel freelink, fine.
  • Reboot to foonas-em to try and mount /dev/hda1 - failed
  • Reboot to freelink to try and run fix_ext2_magic - failed!!

Looking at uboot now, it looks for kernel at /boot/vmlinuz and finds it and loads it, but does nothing - no disk noise activity and the power is still pulsing as if uboot is loading.
Did me trying mount /dev/hda1 somehow corrupt things?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 1:39 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:41 am
Posts: 9
fix_ext2 should work fine for LS2. I've tested it and it's fine.

The question here is, what kind of partitions do you have? /dev/hda1 for stock and /dev/hda3 for full-blown debian? Or?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 10:32 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
nevermind - it was something I was playing/testing to get automated uboot & foonas-em installer working for LS2 thanks to andre..

I should have fixed the title, sorry


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited